Friday, Sept. 30, 2005 11:12 am

Finally Fall

I missed a day of writing yesterday. I guess the cooler weather made me hallucinate. It did get cool yesterday and it was beautiful. I sat outside in the morning with my coffee and watched Nathan Jr. as he made his morning rounds. He's so adorable as he goes out to his fence-scratching-post and sharpens those claws and then finds his little outdoor toilet/pile of decaying leaves. Then he lazily returned to me and the porch and we went inside. It was almost nippy out there at 69 degrees!

I had a good session with the gang. My resignation of last week was withdrawn and it really seemed to stir things up in a good way. I'll stick around for a good while longer, I suppose.

Two interesting things at work. One, we got another trend and we continued as the number one station in town. We were down a little bit and our prime competitor was about the same as last time, but unless we just have a terrible month, I think we are on track to be number one again. I hope it means another big bonus for me next month. I could use another financial boost. In my shift I was number three in the adult demo we like. But my time spent listening was the longest of anyone, which is great.

The other interesting turn of events was that Billy Joe got married! I was so shocked to read that on a national newswire and track down the truth. He did it on Monday to a woman he had "been knowin'" for a couple of years. Don't ask me to define "been knowin'". His manager didn't even know he was going to do this and didn't find out until afterwards. His book publicist hadn't heard about it so she and I wrote some funny emails back and forth about it. Bob from next door was funny. When I asked if he had heard he said "Sure, I was the best man, where were you?" and then he came into my studio later with a phone to his ear, saying "Yes, I know, Billy Joe, but you need to apologize to her yourself, here she is..." It's not that he NEEDED to tell me or SHOULD have told me, but since he was with me last week you'd have thought I would have had a hint!! I guess I just feel out of the loop.

Mark left for Corpus last night. It took a lot of my evening to get him bundled off. I had to go get his prescriptions and they weren't ready so that took a long while. Then I had to take him up to the shop to get the big truck and he brought it back home where his co-worker was meeting him to go with him. They left about midnight, so by that time I went to bed. He'll be out for the weekend. I'm quickly filling the weekend up with things to do, though. I don't know that I'll have the relaxing time with time for myself that I would like!

Odd story developed yesterday in town. A body was found along the service road of the highway, possibly the result of a auto-pedestrian accident. I was aware of it because it was affecting traffic as they did their investigation. This morning it is in the paper that it was a sound/light guy that was in town for the festival. Very bizarre. The supposition is that he went out walking to get something to eat and got hit by a car.

I love this weather.... I don't have on the air conditioning and the air is light and smells good. If it could stay like this for a few days, I would be in heaven.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland