Saturday, Oct. 01, 2005 10:53 am

I'm a Lifeline

I've been up a couple of hours now and done little. I'm "on call" as a lifeline for friends that are doing a cool race downtown where they have to solve clues about Austin and treasure hunt their way to the finish line. I've only been called once. B! is also a lifeline (it is her brother) and she has called for help with a clue, too. I guess the race is almost over. Now I will go get dressed and go watch the game downtown with listeners and co-workers.

The smell and softness of the air this morning reminds me of my grandparents and Eastland. I guess most people would just label that "humidity." I love it. Our summer trips to their house were fun. Backyard cookouts, lots and lots of homemade ice cream (that family thrived on ice cream), trips to the swimming pool and the ice house, walks downtown by TWO LITTLE GIRLS ALONE to go to Perry's and the drugstore and drop by the courthouse and pay respect to Ol' Rip, and go into the post office to see the mural made of stamps, and maybe swing through the laundromat and see if family might be in there washing clothes. Laundromat smells also remind me of Mamma. She never had a washer and dryer. They hung a lot of clothes on the line and that sight/sound/smell is also a memory jogger. Those were happy times, they were very good to their grandchildren. They didn't give us a lot of stuff, because they had eleven grandchildren, but they did give us interesting projects and they were interested in us and our activities.

Tomorrow is my other grandmother's birthday. This will be the first sinces she died. Last year we visited her and had a birthday celebration and I played the accordion for her. Even Mark was with us that day. I'm glad he was. I'm glad we had that little party. She was alert and happy to be there. Poor old thing. If she were alive she would be 99 tomorrow (according to one source... 98 if you had asked her, but she was a crafty liar when it came to age).

Last night I did my usual Friday night working late stuff and was ready to clean up the office a little bit (although it needed a LOT) when a co-worker from next door came in. She and I sat and talked for three hours. It was really nice. She is close to my age and we have similar radio backgrounds (except she has moved for radio jobs, I never really did that). It was fun to talk about many many subjects. I hope she doesn't lose her job anytime soon. Her station isn't doing very well, but she isn't getting a lot of support for it either.

It is game time, so I'd better get my orange on and get downtown. It should be fun. Tonight I'm going to see Randy's band and the CGP is meeting me there. I haven't seen him since June. He's single again, but I don't know if I'll hear why or not. I don't care much why, I just feel bad that he lost his home. What a drag to let someone come to town and move in with you and then go buy a house with them and be settled and then you have to be the one to move out and have nothing. Maybe he has something. Maybe I don't know details. Obviously, I don't know details, what am I saying?


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland