Saturday, Sept. 15, 2007 9:51 am

Weekend

Saturday is here. Hooray. I love a day that is wide open with possibility. Mark will be gone most of the day, I have football to watch, and I'm going to organize this office, dammit!!

The boys came last night. They got here about 4 p.m. and just came on to the house and studied. Good boys. When we all got home we went out to dinner at Carino's. Nothing fancy, just fun to eat and talk. Came home and watched the Soup and Letterman. We felt so OLD watching Letterman. You don't realize how old he is and how many of his references are dated until you watch it with teenagers. But I loved Johnny Carson into my 30s and maybe the boys will still be watching Letterman into their 30s. We'll see.

There was a big fire at ACL yesterday that was quite alarming. Got the word just before I went on the air, so we had to follow that all afternoon. Two critically burned Bud employees were flown to San Antonio. So sad. Hard start for the day, but the music continued. I sure was glad I wasn't there for it all. I'd rather be home.

I had two interviews yesterday. Robert called and did a phoner for his show last night at the Parish and then Gary P came in and we did a face-to-face that will air tomorrow night on my show.

Listeners are funny. A long time ago, a year or more, a woman called and chewed me out when I said that Don Williams was from Floydada. She was just insistent that he was from Lockney. A few weeks later she called and apologized and she had found out I was right. Yesterday evening I played Don Williams and I told that story. She called! She said, I can't believe you remember that conversation. She was very nice and I was glad I didn't make it out like she was a total jerk about it. I said on the air that she had called again and still listened, and was another believer that I know what I'm talking about. Then before 30 minutes had passed, I played my Michael Murphey interview and said I would play his Cherokee Fiddle coming up. A caller immediately called and said, Cherokee Fiddle is Johnny Lee, not MMM. I said, Didn't you learn anything from the Floydada lady?? I know what I'm talking about!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland