Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2007 11:13 am

Blood Drive 9/11

Just thinking outloud, but is it really necessary for everyone in the world to have a blog? I don't mean a diary. I'm all for everyone having a diary to record their thoughts and dreams and daily life. That's what goes down in history. But blogs? Sure, I love some of them, but how many people need to publicly voice their thoughts about Britney Spears and her performance on the music awards Sunday night? This was prompted by all the blog entries about this morning's rain on the blog list at the Statesman. I didn't go read any of the blogs, so maybe they are fascinating reading. It rained! I had to use the windshield wipers! Oh My GOD!!

I guess I'm cranky. Probably not enough sleep, especially with that beautiful rain and dark morning, but I got up early enough, again, to have a little bit of day before I go to work. And today I have to go to the blood center for our blood drive. I will be needing some quiet, alone time tonight. I may have to sneak out for a bit of it this afternoon, too. I don't plan on even going by the station. I think they can do without me there. My desk and office is a mess because I left fast last night, but maybe that will make people think I'm there. ha.

Last night I went to Antone's to see my friends in their debut there. It was pouring rain when I got downtown, which was a drag to have to carry an umbrella. I guess better to carry and need it on the way in than not need it on the way in and not have it when I need it on the way out. I enjoyed their show, though I only heard two and a half songs. I heard something really rocking when I got to the door and was VERY impressed and then saw that it was their fiddle/sax player singing and leading this one. Then they moved on and my friend says "and I'll follow that with Love and Kisses...." It was almost a Saturday Night Live moment. Their last song was a little more upbeat, but still so folky. I admire them for doing it. I don't know that I could watch my husband perform and I surely couldn't perform WITH him. (yes, I realize I watch my husband perform all the time, so I guess I could.... it's just that singer/songwriter thing that would make me embarrassed for him, I think)

I did have a good hotdog while I was there and then M&M had invited me over for a glass of wine and some pasta, so I did that. Wildest thing as I got out at her house!! I wish I had had presence of mind to pull out the camera! I saw a flying saucer. I swear, I got out and there was this long, football shaped craft just RIGHT over me with lots of weird lights on the bottom. My mind ran through so many thoughts so quickly! Then, about as quickly as it went through all the possibilities, I realized it was a blimp, not a flying saucer. I called her and made her come and look and she had the same reaction. I've never seen a blimp at night and don't know what it was doing here, but it was eerie!! Invasion!!

We had a nice dinner. I guess I come from a different upbringing, but when I cook spaghetti, I cook a LOT. She, in her polite, upper crust, way, cooked two servings. They were delicious and, yes, all we needed to eat and I was satisfied. If she had cooked eight servings I probably would have eaten four because it was so good. We talked and listened to a new Doyle Bramhall CD that I'd just gotten. She loaned me a couple of books, too, so I'll have some good reading material for a while. Her boyfriend (not?) just left for Sweden so I think she just wanted some company. I don't know how good his company is these days, but she's not ready to let him get away, it seems.

I didn't make it to the east side after all of that. I came home and did some more genealogy and went to bed.

I keep finding the most AMAZING things! I found ancestry last night that were Quakers that came with a large group from Pennsylvania in pre-Revolutionary times, who were fed up with their taxation and governor and they all moved together down to Georgia and formed a Quaker community. I think the community sort of fell apart (I need to read more) when the Civil War came along and many of the Quakers had to fight or move. By that time my ancestors had moved to Alabama (I think) and did fight in the Civil War. Interesting!

I decided last night that genealogy is a lot like reading a good book. I am deeply into it and and want to know more and can't get enough.... but there is no way to tell people about it really. Even if I tell them the story it won't be as interesting to them as it would if it were there ancestor, too. But, again, I need to pull a lot of this together to give to my cousins that are descended from these people so that it doesn't get forgotten and lost from us.

So... off to the blood drive. Joy. Yes, this is the anniversary of 9/11/2001 and I still can't really ponder that day and my feelings very hard. I have them walled off and don't want to revisit there. What a horrible horrible gut-wrenching day. I thought of it as soon as I woke up this morning because Nathan was being sweet and lovable, just as he was that morning, before we knew anything horrible was happening in the world.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland