Monday, Sept. 10, 2007 11:33 am

Productive weekend

We got an early start to the day and I love that. I wanted to be up early already, but Nathan woke us with a little hacking choking cough. Rather alarming. He wasn't hacking up a hairball, just a little cough cough. It seems to have gone away and he seems okay. Just allergies? We hope so, poor kitty.

So we were up early and even had breakfast early. I feel like I've had a good start to the day. I still need to get dressed and I need to write some letters and get out the door. I hope I can do all that.

I had a productive weekend, but, yes, it was short. I did work in the garden Saturday afternoon in the still-hot summer sun and got it weeded and trimmed and everything picked up, too. I worked in the house and got the bathroom and kitchen all cleaned and swept the back porch and vacuumed the living room. A start... I watched UT football, once the thrilling triple-overtime Aggie game ended. UT looked bad the first half against TCU, but managed to come back and win and stomp them pretty good. I had thought about going to see the Quebe girls at the Saxon, but couldn't get myself out of the house. Mark had a gig at Ginny's with a new guy and he said there wasn't a soul in the place when they started at 9 p.m.

Yesterday I mainly worked on genealogy and my office while Mark went off to the Citywide. Then I went to the station and met up with Roger and we pre-recorded the Texas show and he sang. That was nice. I went on over to the cafe for a golf/cory benefit thing. Saw my piano playing friend JMW and his girlfriend. M&M was there, too. Lots of people and it was nice to not be on the job. Stayed until about 9 and then came home to finish the Cowboys first game of the season.

Mark was on the phone with Sunny for a long time so I started watching the new HBO show Tell Me You Love Me. Decided it may be something I watch, but I think we can't watch it together... it is bound to start a fight! I thought there would be more of the therapy sessions instead of the "real life" part, but maybe that comes later. haha I said come.

Found even more interesting things yesterday in genealogy. Found a history of Mark's family going back to 1700 in Ireland. It even had ME! But it had his aunt marrying a guy in 1976 after her first divorce. Mark said that if that were true, he certainly never knew about it. I asked his dad and yes, his aunt DID get married and Mark was completely unaware of it. I also found a line of mine that shows it going back to 1385 in England!! How do people find this stuff? This didn't have the proof, just the line, and it was fascinating, but how can you, for sure, know you are related to a guy in a time when there weren't birth certificates (or maybe there was, I don't know). First line I've ever found that goes back that far, that's for sure!

Today I have to do double work because I won't be in the office tomorrow at all. I also will go see my friends play at Antone's briefly before I go to the east side. Long day, but fun. M&M may go to Antone's with me.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland