Thursday, Sept. 09, 2010 8:25 am

Hermine moves on

Well it has been quite a week since I wrote on Labor Day. A tropical storm in the Gulf that was just a blip as I wrote Monday morning, became an almost-hurricane Hermine that hit Mexico going due north and bowled over Texas for the last 2 days. If that was just a tropical storm, I never want to experience a hurricane. Or at least not be out in it.

It took me 2 hours to get to work in rain Tuesday morning and it poured rain all day long. The windows of our office looked like a car wash. I had to go up to the radio station so I waited until a break in the weather, but it only lasted until I was halfway there and then it dumped down more. Tornadoes in north Austin while I was working at the station. Driving home was treacherous. The highway wasn't horrible, but once I got if onto the dark road it was scary. Big puddles of water along the curbs splashing over my windshield and lightning all around. I was so glad to be home and dry.

Yesterday was fine here, but the storm hit Dallas just as hard. They even had tornadoes during the day touching down in downtown.

Finally, it is mostly over and there is just a slight chance of rain and an unbearable amount of humidity for the next few days.

I have been very busy at work and those clients in NC bugging me. Finally got their program to bed, but I know it still needs work and simplification. It is just too damn complicated with all three dayparts working from the same program. They had a manager write and bitch about hearing Dancing Queen like he was personally affronted. Well, I didn't put that song in their program, that is in the category they told me to not touch. They put it in there long before I was on board.

I finally got Spike paid for the writing course I will be taking. Mark wanted me to hand her the cash money instead of depositing it, but it was taking so long I felt like she might have been waiting like I had on payment last week, so I paypalled it to her on Monday night finally. I won't let it become debt. In fact, last night, Mark graciously offered some drum money he made to help pay the mortgage. I don't know why we are so far behind this month, but that will help and then I am supposed to get a good check with bonuses from work next week, but you can't count on such things, though I always do.

I guess I need to write my girl cousins this morning and let them know I am not coming to Hot Springs next week. I am just too pressured and stressed to feel good about going.

I need to drag on some clothes and get to work. My immediate boss is out of the office so there isn't a lot of attention being paid to my workday, which is nice. Not that she has ever been a source of stress at all. It's just supervision and authority on principle to me.

And tonight the NFL season begins. Hooray. And Mark has a late night gig so I might go to bed at a decent hour, too.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland