Sunday, Oct. 03, 2010 9:26 am

Mom visits

I did go to the funeral Thursday. Bless my sweet boss's heart. I told her I needed to take a personal day to go to this funeral. She said there was bereavement leave and I could do that. I said I didn't expect this funeral of a distant cousin counted, but she said to put it down and if no one questioned it, it was fine. So I won't lose personal days or vacation.

It was a LONG drive. I left the house about 6:40 and still had to stop and get gas, so it was a late start. Then I had to stop for coffee along the way because I was getting so tired. But I made it to the church before the service and was able to go in with the family. It was a nice service, but way too preachy. Mom said Daddy would have hated that. I sure hate that. There was no burial, but there was a viewing of the body later at the funeral home (who sounded very tacky in many ways and I didn't like them). But we didn't stay for the viewing. I brought Mom on home with me for a short visit.

I had my first writing class Thursday night. It was fun. A little inspiring. It is fun just to be around the teacher because she is amusing and does make some of her living off of writing and has a new book coming out this week.

Mom and I have had fun. I brought home pizza Friday after work and we ate pizza and watched a movie. Yesterday I went to lunch with M&M for her birthday and came home and we watched the OU beating Texas horrible game. Last night the three of us went to Carino's for dinner before Mark went to a gig. Lots of fun and visiting. Now I'm about to take her to Waco to meet up with sister to exchange her. I appreciate sister being able to to the meeting (she had the added enticement of lunch with her sons) because that saves me the whole trip to and from Dallas.

When I get back this afternoon I have to go record shows for the station and later in the week I may be doing some weird fast trips up there because we have these meetings at the office this week.

Mom's up so I'll go visit.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland