Monday, Oct. 22, 2007 11:28 am

Eventful weekend

I just reread my Saturday entry...lots of mistakes that I won't go back and fix today. It was early in the morning when I wrote, I must have still been asleep.

I did go to the eye doctor and spent a lot of time there, because she did think that a pair of glasses would help me with driving at night. I almost killed a guy on Friday night, not that that had anything to do with my night blindness. He was crossing the street between intersections, and I saw him and was thinking "Why do people cross the street in the dark??" So I watched him get to the median and I was thinking, Well, I guess he knew how much time he had, and he safely made it. THEN, the idiot turned around and went back into my lane to pick up something he had dropped. I swear he did it without even looking to see if someone was coming. I laid on the brakes and you could have heard the squeal for a mile. It scared him, but I think it scared me worse. If I had been looking down (or texting!) I think he would be a dead man. Holy fuck people! Don't do that!

So, anyway, I got a prescription for a pair of glasses just to use at night or when I need a modicum of more vision, maybe at a movie, too. I got some cool funky purple ones.

She dilated my eyes and after an hour there I wasn't in the mood to go to the Mexican store or anywhere else, so I came home and watched football. Texas beat Baylor, but I was rooting for Baylor this time.

I made some cookies, but I don't think they turned out too well. It was so hot in the house the Crisco was melting. I was cooling the pans and keeping the dough in the fridge, but they all spread too flat.

I did go back to the station late in the day and recorded my breaks for my remote, which was a very good thing because we needed them, it turned out.

Saturday night Mark was still out in San Antonio with Branford Marsalis. I have no recollection now what I did. I guess I watched TV and just piddled. Nothing got accomplished, that's for sure.

Yesterday, though, I had a really good day. I had to get up and out early for this remote in Georgetown. I was thinking it would all be a clusterfuck as I got there because I didn't get a fact sheet at all and I couldn't find the remote itself, or my kids and the van. Finally found them and we weren't able to do a live remote so I was glad I pre-recorded. It all turned out well and I met a lot of nice listeners (and a couple of real assholes, truly! - - I used to listen, but I quit two years ago when I heard a Dixie Chicks song. - - How am I supposed to respond to that??) So anyway, we made it through and it was a lovely day and Sun City is a beautiful, though cookie-cutter, place.

But after, I drove up to Florence and finally found the cemetery (you'd think in a tiny town it would be easier to find!) and walked it until I found the graves of my great-great grandparents. I knew they were there, but hadn't seen their graves. That was thought-provoking. Their graves are in great shapes to be almost 100 years old.

Then I drove across the countryside and thought of what it looked like when they lived there. I went over to Bartlett and Granger and got lost a bit because I forgot my atlas. I ended up going the wrong direction out of Granger and didn't find the cemetery I wanted to find so I'll have to go back. But I saw beautiful cotton fields and pretty country and listened to the Cowboys play.

When I was ready to be home I was still about 60 miles away from home, so I took the newest tollway to see where it goes. Weird to be on a highway and not really know where you are at. It is pretty through there (until the gas stations and mini-marts all pop up).

I took a nap after the Cowboys won and then I finally got some zip and washed clothes and cleaned the kitchen. Well, I had to get the zip to clean the kitchen because I saw a big roach and that creeped me out and I had to wash all the silverware and spray everything. Ick ick ick.

After everything was cleaned up, I made a big pot of soup in anticipation of the colder weather.

It was still hot when Mark was home (the weather, not the soup), but the cold front finally did hit. Finally, our first taste of fall air. . .so late into the year! This morning it is windy and rainy and 50 degrees. Nathan took a look out the backdoor and said "No thank you!" He is in the windowsill, glum that he has no sunshine to lay in.

I have called KK twice over the weekend and had no answer. I hope she is okay. I really worry about the station without someone of her caliber in charge. Tomorrow I am supposed to go to the hospital for a tour and lunch. I wish she would be there. I don't want to have lunch with the witch that is in charge of things.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland