Saturday, Oct. 20, 2007 9:10 am

Saturday plan

I guess I'll write a quick entry and then I need to get ready to go to the eye doctor. I finally got a couple of appointments that I love to put off. . . eye and teeth. I had to get the teeth in before the end of the year because I declined the dental insurance for 2008. I'll let them rot for a year and then get them fixed in '09 if need be.

My cousin with cancer has had it spread and grow more on his liver, so she is back into chemo and heavy-duty attack mode. I feel so sorry for her and her whole family. She is just so sick of this all, yet keeps that great attitude and keeps fighting. She said she would need winter pajamas for the hospital so I ordered some for her online to be delivered ASAP. I expect she'll get about a dozen pairs from family members, quickly.

Yesterday was a sad day at work. My promotions friend KK did quit. I wasn't there for any of it, but she quit and her boss did some yelling, I heard, and she packed up her stuff and won't be back, at her boss's request (? I'm not sure about all of the details, I just know she is gone and didn't return my call yesterday). I don't know what they expect from these people that just give up their lives for practically no salary whatsoever. It really requires a huge amount of dedication to do this job and they just take it for granted that someone else is going to be willing to give their all.

So did I not write yesterday or is the site playing tricks on me again? I really think I did write.

I just rearranged a lot of our debt to hopefully save us a bundle in finance charges. Because of my mother's generosity and gift earlier this year we were able to pay off a big credit card. Now, of course, that credit card company is afraid we are going to cancel the card, so they offered a 5% rate on transferred balances. I studied the small print and went with it in one lump sum so that the transaction fee was as low as it could be. Then I paid off about four (or five?) other cards with the money. Now I will no longer use that card at all, obviously, nor use the other five and now we are down to just four credit card debts to pay. Still a lot, still the same amount of money, but with a lot lower interest. I think we can be out of debt by Mark's 50th birthday and that is my goal (two weeks from this week). If we get another generous gift from Mother it will be a lot sooner, but I will be working toward that goal.

I forgot to do one thing at the station last night so I will have to go back by their today to pre-record for tomorrow's remote, just in case something goes wrong.

Yesterday I met a new band called Sweet Root. Nice enough guys from Baton Rouge. Their music doesn't knock me over, but they were nice. Then I had a guy from the Eli Young Band on the show. I've met him before and he is nice, but they don't do much for me either. I liked him solo and acoustic. I could have gone out to see that old drummer and the swing guys last night, but when I called Mark when I was done at work, he was done, too, and was heading home, so I packed up and came home. Didn't do a darn thing when I got here either.

So today, eye appointment, to the station for some work, to the Day of the Dead store for some things for my altar and who knows what else this afternoon. That's the plan as of 9:30.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland