October 02, 2002 10:24 am

ACLFest

I haven't even written about the ACL Fest and since then I've gone through a tiny corner of radiohell and had a nice visit from my parents and worn myself out pretty good!

The festival was wonderful. As a long-time vet of New Orlean's JazzFest (which I adore and wouldn't trade, I love what it is), I thought the ACL Fest did itself proud and had things mostly worked out very very well. There were glitches for some folks, but since I had the advantage of a parking pass and a VIP pass, I had food and drink easily available and didn't have to wait in lines for anything. Without looking back at the list, I know I saw Emmylou Harris and Pat Green, the Derailers and Cross Canadian Ragweed, South Austin Jug Band, Los Lobos, Jimmie Vaughn, Gillian Welch, Nickel Creek, Caroline Herring, the Jayhawks, Bob Schneider, Eric Johnson, Asleep at the Wheel, and probably more that I have forgotten. Some I really sat down and saw the whole show, others I heard from other areas but was aware of who I was listening to.

Saturday I was there by myself through most of the day. I introduced the South Austin Jug Band and the Derailers that day and those introductions went smoothly and I was proud of them. I hung out with my friend Kitty and her buds a little bit and some people from the station some too.

One great thing about ACL Fest over JazzFest: In New Orleans you go to the festival all day and get hot and tired and then you MUST get cleaned up and go eat fabulous New Orleans food and go to a fabulous New Orleans club for more music because how often are you going to be in New Orleans? In Austin, I left the festival completely worn and wrung out and I was able to go home to a hot bath and straight to bed!

Sunday I was on the air until three so I went out after. I gave Mark my parking pass so he could go earlier than me so I parked up in the Barton Hills neighborhood (legally!) in my cousin's driveway. I found Mark easily and we saw Jimmie Vaughn together until I had to leave to introduce Cross Canadian Ragweed and Reckless Kelly. Mark didn't stay much longer, he had a busy night ahead. I stayed into the evening hanging out mostly with my old friend Beth and her friends and sister. I stayed through Emmylou and decided that was enough for me, I could live without the reunion of the ArcAngels, and I went home.

My folks were here at the house when I got home. I had to shower before I could even greet them; I stunk bad! Had a nice visit with them and we saw Mark off to his gig at Antone's.

I had to go to bed earlier than usual (and was happy to after the long weekend) because I had to be up early to produce the morning show on our station. The young man/boy/guy that is producing now had to go to his dad's funeral, sadly, and I was called in for the emergency.

That was the beginning of that corner of radiohell. I'll try to get up the courage to relate that experience later. Now I have the wonderful anticipation of a massage in 25 minutes right here in my house!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland