October 03, 2002 10:48 am

Radiohell Revisited

The massage yesterday was fabulous---especially being able to walk away from the massage table in the living room to crash on my bed for a while and leave the paying to Mark after his massage.

Still backtracking as I catch up on the week. I filled in Monday and Tuesday on the morning show. The producer is the one who runs the board and makes sure all the commercials get run and makes sure that all the music beds that start the news and traffic, etc., are there. What a disaster Monday. I've never done this for them before and they didn't have a clue as to where these important items are stored in the computer. Time and time again something would happen and they would say, "Oh, that should have music under it." Well, what music, where is it? "I don't know, but it's there somewhere." I would ask what comes next and they didn't have an idea. I had been critical about the show across the hall coming in completely unprepared, but this show really took the cake. Since they hadn't been to the ACL Fest, it apparently was deemed unimportant and only got a mention while their exploits of the weekend (trouble on an airplane, etc) took center stage.

And the backbiting and bitterness! Whew! They seem to not like the kid that has been being their producer (recall that this job was offered to me first)and they were saying terrible things about him while I was there (not to me, only to each other). They desperately want the last guy that had been there three years to come back, but that ain't a gonna happen and they forget that they hated him the first year too.

I was also appalled that their show is a completely different radio station than the rest of the day. They don't mention or promote anything else that is going on through the day and they planned and talked about a promotion that was directly in competition with a regular station promotion. When I pointed this out to them they snorted and were apparently quite pleased with themselves and unhappy about the regular promotion and its location.

The best part of the morning both Monday and Tuesday was the doling out of the drugs. I was getting rather frantic and rattled and an unnamed member of this morning show offered up the drugs. I greedily took them and he is my new best friend. That took off the edge and made it all a little more tolerable. Not for all-time, but for those two days.

I finally feel like I have recovered from the lack of sleep those two days brought. And today I face a busy day of job 1 and then job 2 and then a visit with the birthday-celebrating grandmother and then to a remote in Pflugerville this evening.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland