Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2004 10:33 am

Back from the BIG Cruise

I am home from my long relaxing vaction. Usually I come home from a vacation needing time off to recover from the trip, but this time I'm relaxed and feeling good! I wish I had a few days to catch up on laundry and just BE at home, but I'll adjust. On Monday I was watching the ball game at work and I said on the air it is difficult to convince anyone of the hard job I have when I go on a week's cruise, business-related and paid for, and am watching a ball game while I work! Don't let me complain about it, there's no reason.

The cruise was really nice. Not as fancy or fabulous as the one we went on with my parents, but fabulous nonetheless. We've never seen so many fat people in our lives! I guess all the included food is a draw for them. The ship was full of people from the southern states, so we had the sound of rednecks everywhere we went (I'm not saying they WERE rednecks, just that they had that accent). Critical, critical, I know.

And, pot calling the kettle black! I gained a tiny bit of weight on the trip to add to the 15 pounds I've gained this summer and that is a real drag. I'm really trying to get a handle on it now and turn it around. There hasn't been any pizza at work the last two days, so that does help!

Mark was super sweet during the entire trip and we got along well. It's made it hard to come back to town where we don't see each other much. I enjoy time with him.

This week it has been back to work and I actually got the boss yesterday and we did music and changed a lot of things. I was so glad to get some changes on the station. It has been so stale all summer since the good boss left.

I got to be with the good boss last night at the Pat G. CD release party at Stubb's. It was a big event and I did the intro and then got a nice sweaty kiss from Pat at the end, too. I don't know him well at all, but he is always very nice to me. I met a lot of nice young listeners, too. A couple of boys from high school and more. It is nice when new listeners come over and say hi.

After that show I started over to Mark's gig on the east side and our friend and housesitter called. He was willing to go with me so I swung back and picked him up at his historic Sixth Street apartment. It is a cool location, I really want to see the inside someday. He had never seen Mark, but he has managed clubs and seen a million bands and really had an appreciation for Mark's skills that I haven't heard. It was fun to hear his commentary on the band. There weren't many people at the club because of the big baseball game. I came out of Stubb's trying to find the score and finally determined that the Red Sox were ahead. We got to the club and got to see the final inning and saw the Red Sox catch up in the series with the Yankess. This has been a fun few days of baseball!

I'm enjoying being back on the air and I need to remember how much I enjoy my job. I enjoy being at home so much that I hate leaving, but I enjoy being there too. If there were only more hours in the day or I could live parallel lives.

Which reminds me of time travel... I need to go back and read Jette's comments on Napoleon Dynamite again because she hated it. I saw it on the ship maybe four times and I LOVED it. It was just weird and quirky enough and relatable enough to my nerdy high school life to adore it!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland