Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2007 11:57 am

Weirdness

I don't think my entry yesterday showed the magnitude of weirdness that was going on through the weekend.... or maybe it just seems bigger when more and more weirdness was added to it yesterday.

El's dad died while they were riding bikes together. How tragic is that? And their relationship is a little on the weird side, too, I think. I still haven't talked to her, but an email from her describes him as the "love of her life," which is odd. And Laser tells me that she has had a big crush on the fat funny guy at work for a year. That makes some sense, but that is awfully sad because he is such a cruel jackass and she is a nice person (and, of course, he is married). That poor girl really has some issues.

Then, last night, I get off the air and hear the new PD of the sports station hollering about a woman on the tower. I go outside and there is a young woman at the top of the cell phone tower by our office!! She is leaning out and then hanging upside down. Totally freaked me out. The police and firemen are all there, but it is a "wait and see" kind of thing. I had to go inside. There is no way I wanted to see her fall/jump. I already can't shake the image of her up there. She did eventually come down, thank goodness.

And our good friend Dale, the harmonica player, had a bad wreck on his bike yesterday and tore up his rotator cuff on his arm and can't play and is in a lot of pain.

There just seems to be lots of weirdness going on. Lots! I was going to go to Antone's last night and then my mood just wouldn't allow it. I stayed late at work and then went to the grocery and then came home and cooked some hamburger and steak on the grill. The weather was ideal.

Oh, and I haven't written about the Lyle show. We had the best date. The Cowboys lost on the way down, which sucked, but the rest of the date was fabulous. Well, except for the guy behind us that insisted on singing with some of the songs. Lyle was outstanding and the band was killer and he sang songs we haven't heard him sing in years and years (God Will, Closing Time) and he did seem to skip that whole I Love Everybody crappy era. He played almost 2 1/2 hours. Afterward we went to Mi Tierra and had a great dinner and had our picture taken by the strolling photographer. First picture we've had taken together (of just us) this whole year!

So now it is time to go to work again. I will go by El's dad's visitation this evening on the way home. Mark is playing, but I don't know that I will be interested in going to it. Some weeks I am up and ready go out every night, others I just want to be home. With this cool weather I think I want to do some curluping.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland