October 14, 2002 12:52 am

Still hoping

Things are rolling right along at work as we get closer to the end of that era. I must say, the boss that is leaving is treating me very well and has been extra-helpful in teaching me what I need to do to fill in for him and extra-supportive in my bid for the position. He had said, to me, that he was rooting for me to get it, but, cynical me, I expected that was only what he was saying to my face. Tonight I talked to a salesperson who said he had said the same to her.

Today I got my aircheck and spot examples burned to a CD to give to the boss tomorrow. The salesperson I talked to tonight said that the sales staff wants the decision to be made quickly since they want to be able to sell live spots for this person to do. She was pulling for me. I keep talking to people that think I am the obvious choice for this job. I would hope that I am but I am also insecure enough and not ego-driven enough to expect that someone else will end up with it because they will sell themselves better.

I had a remote tonight that has been unorganized from the start. Then more glitches happened on the air once we began the remote. I was horrified to go back to the station and find that one of the problems was my fault and my error. I had hoped I could blame it all on others, but no. Fortunately, the bigger error of the night was not my fault and was a BIG error.

Backtracking to Friday so I don't forget what a fun day I had: Lunch with Bryan since I didn't get to go to the high school reunion. We got together for our own at Guero's. Truthfully, as much fun as I have had at previous reunions, Bryan is a lot of the reason to go, and with him here, I didn't have to make that long trip to Amarillo.

Friday evening my doctor's office went to happy hour at J.C.'s Bar and Grill. We had a great time. Everyone was there with spouses (except Mark) and everyone was willing to let down and let loose. It was really fun. We told stories on each other and had a great time. I hope the fun days with this office aren't over.

I thought there would be time to kill between a happy hour and a date with B! at 9, but my happy hour turned into four. I was among the first to leave. I met up with B! and we went downtown to meet many of her student friends and see the Mr. Sinus Theater show of Dirty Dancing. It was the most fun! I think it would have been fun even if I hadn't had a four hour happy hour. Mr. Sinus Theater does what Mystery Science Theater did on TV--they lampoon bad movies, only they do it live. I was a huge fan of the TV show and live was even more fun with the laughing crowd. I want to go back ASAP.

Okay, back to tonight. I finished my remote and went by Antone's. Guy F. was playing more sit-down acoustic songs and it was fabulous. Really enjoyed it. Finally left when it was getting more raucous and loud. Ran by the station to see about the problems from the remote and then went to the Continental Club for a bit. It was too crowded and I was claustro-anxious so I left. I mainly wanted to see if Kitty was there but she may be out of town

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland