October 10, 2002 12:01 am

Capitol Visit and Evil Exits

This has been a very interesting week and it is only Wednesday.

Monday night I went to the Capitol to attend an alumni meeting for my old alma mater. I have never been a gung ho alumni, but I was excited about the opportunity to go to a suarez in the reception room of the lieutenant governor at the Capitol. Also to be in attendance: Anita Perry, the first lady of Texas. She graduated from my school in the first nursing school class in 1974.

The Capitol was beautiful on this cool, windy, rainy evening. It was sad to have to have my purse checked as I entered the building. I miss the freedom we had 14 months ago to walk freely in and out. But the reception room was fabulous. I had been in there once before, just being a tourist (although it isn't on the tour, you can go back there if you know how). There is a beautiful china cabinet with fabulous dishes with bluebonnets on them. There is a small seating area and a dining table area. Our meeting had some wonderful appetizers on the table and they were serving wine and coffee. Much snazzier than I would have expected from my little West Texas. We were always more of a beer and Dr. Peppers kind of bunch.

The meeting was nice and the added benefit was that I was among a group of people that loved Austin and loved living here and wouldn't leave, but, at the same time, had the fondest memories of the Pandhandle, the cool nights, the beautiful sunsets. These peoople understood my heritage. I really want to do more with these folks even though I had never met them before.

That is, for one old school chum. Cathy was a year ahead of me, or at least a year ahead of me in the radio department. By the time I got there, she was already "big time" and worked all-nights in Amarillo. Over the years, she was a big shot TV reporter and we had lunch a few times and knew one another but were never friends, mainly we just had mutual friends. But she was at this meeting after 6 years in Austin. She is a wonderful girl and I really think we could be friends. Of course, tonight I'm trying to find her business card with no luck but I'm sure it is here or in the car or somewhere. I'll find her.

At that meeting Monday night, my cell phone rang. I reached and muted and ignored it until the meeting ended. As I walked to my car in the soft rain under the lights of our State house, I checked my messages. There was a message from my big "good" boss. I called to see what he needed. What he told me blew me away: The "evil" boss resigned on Friday. He is leaving the station, his shift, this town!! Even though he and I have been getting along very well the last few months, I was happy to hear this news.

What the big "good" boss wanted from me was for me to fill in and do some other duties that he will be leaving behind. And, he will be considering me for the "evil" boss's job. I will not need to be evil to apply. Interesting turn of events after 16 months of underemployment.

Today I went to the station to learn some of those extra duties and to see the good boss. He talked with me some more and my "high" and excitement were knocked down a notch or two. I have a fear that I may be filling in on this shift at part-time wages for longer than I will want to do it with the uncertainly of the future. I don't know. I shouldn't worry about that now. I am certainly not the only candidate for this position, and traditionally, women don't get to do afternoon drive, especially on a country station. I shouldn't worry about that right now either. I know what is meant to be will happen, and I hope I can accept whatever it is.

Of course, I am so wishy-washy, I don't like the thought of leaving my doctor's office job at all either. They don't either, though they are supportive. There is a whole side of me hoping that nothing changes so I can continue there doing what I do and having their camaraderie.

So, we'll see. Que sera sera. Or Kay sarah sarah as my father would say.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland