Tuesday, Oct. 10, 2006 12:16 pm

More cancer and more insecurities

How many entries do I start with "I've got to get up and get going..." Here's another.

But this morning it is raining and cool and the window is open and it is SO nice and pleasant, I hate to go face the real world. I could so easily become a hermit.

Just heard from my mom that Dad's cancer is back in his jaw. They will do a biopsy next week and surgery soon after and radiation a couple of weeks after that. It is small and it is "doable" I suppose, but I know this is so frustrating to Daddy since he is as much a hermit as me sometimes (neither one of us is as bad as Mother). I've had a couple of phone calls from her, but no more than that. I don't know what I need to know. I wish I knew if I need to be there. I guess I'll know more next week and I won't think about it until then.

I asked the boss yesterday if I could be off to go see my nephew be drum major and he said no. Frustrating to not have any time off because we are in ratings. I think six months of the year is just too much to ask to not have ONE day off during that time. Of course, if Dad needs surgery they can just eat it because I will take off for that. Hell, I was off seven days last October and we were still number one. Things happen. I did warn the boss that I would NOT miss my nehew's graduation. Non-negotiable.

I got email from Cotton today that he has a job. He also points out that he has found out that the promo person doesn't like him and looks upon him with disdain. That's true, but I wonder who is feeding him information? If they are, he certainly has heard that I don't like him either, so why is he writing me? Actually, I think we could be better friends if we didn't work together. He just bugged me to death with his obsessiveness about the station. He had also heard that we had been told not to talk to him. Wonder who gave that info to him?

Yesterday was a frustrating day at the radio ranch. We run a stupid little 5 second commercial that I've complained about before. They decided to institute this little spot last year on the day before the Labor Day weekend, so I had to overhaul everything to do it as well as get the station for a three day holiday. Frutrating. More frustrations with it since then. Well, yesterday, spur-of-the-moment, the boss decides to move the spot to a different position on the log. Unbelievable how much is involved in making that happen. And the traffic girl wrote me that he wanted it "at the bottom of the hour." Currently it was running at :45. So I reworked the current day and then reworked all the skeleton clocks to have that spot run at :30. Then, I go and talk to the traffic girl to discover that HER definition of "the bottom of the hour" is :59, not :30. She is WRONG, of course, but :59 is where he wanted it and what she thought she was relaying to me. So, again, I had to go back and rework the entire current log and then stay until 10 pm reworking all the skeletons and seeing if they would work. It will take a while to make sure they are all falling into place, but I don't know why we need all of these little annoyances.

Having done so much last night, though, I feel I can go in a little later today.

And I'm still worrying/pondering about my Best of Austin. I hope I am not hugely embarrassed when I am invited just because of who I am and not to get an award. Insecurities abound.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland