Monday, Oct. 09, 2006 10:45 am

BBQ and weekend

I've been glued to this chair for almost two hours. We got up WAY too early this morning. And, of course, Mark says, Well, I'll get a good nap this afternoon. Sadly, I won't. I will be dragging during my show, I expect. But, it is nice to wake up early and be able to get up instead of having to drag myself up at eleven or so.

Pretty lonely weekend all the way around, but I can't complain since Mark is working so hard. I know he's not particularly relishing what he's doing either. He got home last night before it was too awful late and we caught up on some TV and conversation. This morning we compared calendars and there isn't going to be a lot of time together in the weeks to come either. He does say he will go to the Best Of Austin party Wednesday night. I wish my mind wouldn't keep expecting him to bail on me.

The BBQ festival was okay yesterday. There is a man that works with it that was on my show Friday and I met last year, too. For the life of me, I cannot remember his face! He came up yesterday and I was looking at him like a calf looking at a new gate. I just couldn't make out who he was. I don't know how that happens with some people and others are so memorable I can call them by name a year later! I couldn't remember this guy 48 hours! The band had to play in the full sun, which was poor planning. I did my introduction and then had some barbeque and beer and wandered around a little bit. I bought a hanging spider plant and some herbs and then came on home. It took forever to get across town each way. That location is far from home and hard to get too for me. Traffic was backed up on the freeway going north so I went through town so I just came back through town the whole way home.

Today I need to talk to the Hamster and figure out some things he needs from me for this week. We are having to re-define our roles now that Cotton is out of the picture. I need to concentrate on what I want to accomplish at this job and how I can do it. I am doing well there, there is no doubt, but I don't want to get caught up in details that stress me out too much.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland