Wednesday, Oct. 11, 2006 11:11 am

Anniverary week

Wow--- it is Oct 11 and it is 11:11 am. Bizarre, huh? I guess not as bizarre as it will be next month when it is 11/11 and 11:11, or in five years and a month when it is 11/11/11 and 11:11. Oh, I'm sure there will be news stories about that! That will also be my nephews', let's see, 24th? birthday. He'll be NINETEEN next month. How does that happen. When I started writing this online journal he was just a mere twelve-year-old and I'm sure I had lots of sweet stories about his elementary school adventurs. Now he's off to college and coming to visit on tomorrow. I am so pumped for his visit. I hope I don't smother him. I'm glad it is going to be chilly for his visit so I we can really enjoy my chicken and dumplings.

I worked late again last night, but it was mostly a matter of just forgetting to leave. I wasn't deeply into work, I was just doing a few tasks that had no real purpose and then I looked up and it was ten o'clock. For one, I moved all the little celebrity liners, "Hi this is Jack Ingram..." sort of stuff and put them in the same place. The way it was, you pretty much had to know what you were looking for and do a general search in order to find it. Some were in bits, some in segues, even in beds, for heaven's sake. So I moved them all to segues, standardized their titles to make it easy to see who it was and who it was for and now you can see if there was one you didn't know about. That just reminded me that there is a Dierks one in there somewhere I need to find. And I think I will start making artists record new ones for me when I can. I Jason B. on my show today, so I'll make him record some.

The promotions department has been having artists call and wish us a happy anniversary. I've got at least a dozen of those in the can for Friday. It will be a full afternoon. Of course, yesterday promotions said, "And some of these are going to run during other parts of the day..." Well, if that were the case they should have told me because they are all interviews with ME and set up as if they are calling on my show. Poor communication. They are going to have to all be during my show. If anyone else wants that sort of thing, they should have gotten them themselves. I still don't have some of the biggies that I need to call in. I know they will want to. I dropped one of the poor interviews yesterday. I may end up dropping some more.

And today is the awards day! I am just busting to go to that party and see what it is all about. I also have lots of trepidation about it all. I have never been one of the cool kids and I just don't want to get another Most Dependable. That was what I got in high school and Mark has always thought that that was a cool thing because I am dependable. But, if you had been there, you would know that Most Dependable goes to someone dorky. Most Witty and Most Likely to Succeed are good ones to get. And I know I got mine by default because I was on the newspaper at the time that did the polling. A wonderful girl that we all loved, Laura D., was in the running for BOTH Most Dependable and Most Likely to Succeed. She was up against my friend Cassi for the big one and up against me for Dependable. So her vote was split and Cassi and I ended up with those two awards. I am sure Laura got more votes than either one of us, but they were split. So, tonight we'll see if possibly Best Insecure Austin Disc Jockey is one of the categories, I suppose. Again, I predict an Editor's Pick, not a Reader's Pick, which is still very cool. Almost cooler, since I think the editors are cooler people, generally, than the readers, and I prefer to be a "special" pick. We'll see at 6 p.m.

And while I'm dwelling on my insecurities, my dad is still dealing with cancer. No more news on that front except I did talk to my sister and got emails from her and Mom. A biopsy next Wednesday and possibly surgery next Friday. I guess I'd better get ahead on all the logs and such (hard to do with company next week) and be ready for it. I hope it is just day surgery for him this time. I looked up my entry for February when it was supposed to be day surgery and he ended up spending the night. I didn't read any further, but now that I think about it, wasn't that the week that he got out and then had to go back? Too much to remember.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland