Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005 11:30 am

Still tired

Okay, after such a burst of energy on my novel last week I haven't done a thing in days. I've got to get back on it! I thought I would this morning, but here it is 1130 and I'm hardly even awake. I finished a bad novel last night that was published and I know I can do better than that... I just need to get on the stick and do it!

I have been busy writing a thank you email to supporters in the Race for the Cure. I will have to do one for my team today at work, too. Last night I spun my wheels a LOT trying to get the pictures out of my camera. Couldn't find the card reader. Mark's computer has the card slots, but none that fit my camera's card. My computer doesn't have a picture editing program anymore. Couldn't find my camera's charger. On and on and on! I ended up getting them downloaded to my computer, burning a CD to move them to Mark's computer, editing them there and then emailing them to myself back on this computer. Geez... used to we would have waited a week or two at least to get photos developed and get dupes made, but all WE had to do was go to the store to do that. Has techonology sped things up or tied us all down?

I had a doctor appointment last week with sweet Dr. M. He is so nice. He had never heard of spasmodic dysphonia, which, of course, didn't surprise me, and he wrote it down and said he was going to look it up. He was very interested in how it is treated. He was mostly concerned with my high blood pressure. It was high last year and it was high this year and I told him that is it always high when I check it. He asked me to check it for a couple of weeks and get back with them. I've checked it three times and it is always high.

Today is my old boyfriend Jeff's birthday. Funny how I remember these things. Sure, it is my high school friend Karen's birthday, too, but Jeff is the one that I remember. He was my first real boyfriend in many ways. I was in 8th grade and he was in 10th. We couldn't date since I was just a baby! I was 13 I think. He did get to bring me home after a couple of choir concerts and I would see him at football games in his band uniform. He was so cute and tall. Dumb as a post, too, sadly. Many years later, in the 80s, even after I moved to Dallas, I think, I ran into him again in a bar in Amarillo. It was one of those "movie moments" where I walked into a bar with friends and felt the music mute and the crowd part and the spotlight shine on him and knew immediately it was Jeff. Very weird experience. I got to talk to him and I think we even danced one dance (but a fast one, not touching, because his wife was there and he was worried that she would be jealous... I liked that!). He was still cute as could be, but still dumb as a post. I did find out that night that, not only was he my first boyfriend, I was his first girlfriend. I, of course, thought he was a man of the world at the time since he was in TENTH grade and was in HIGH SCHOOL. So, happy birthday Jeff, whereever you are and whoever you are married to now.

I haven't written about my fall last week and I'm still suffering. Last Wednesday I was walking into work wearing my boots. The floors are work are polished concrete. I was walking down the hall and had fortunately just passed the conference room where ten people were meeting and could see me through the windows, when I fell. My left boot went out in front of me and I could feel myself going down and there was nothing that could be done. I did a split with my right knee hitting first and hardest. The left hip took it pretty hard, too. So, since then, my knee has been bright purple and hideous, and my whole body has been twisted and hurts a LOT. I've been downing the ibuprofens as often as allowed and hope I heal up eventually.

I'd better get ready for maid day. I look forward to night-after-the-maids! My favorite.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland