Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006 12:13 pm

Making the habit

I am running behind this morning and still have lots of items on my "must be done" list, but I want to get back into the habit of writing daily and getting these ideas out of my head.

I see that Tom Waits has a new massive three-disc CD set out today. I must get it for Mark and maybe Seth as a Thanksgiving present. I saw a cut with Bukowski as the writer. Makes me want to search Bukowski and read more of his writings and just have time for more searching and reading of those cult writers. Maybe I want to be a cult writer? Maybe I just want to be a writer for myself.

My NaNoWriMo never has gotten beyond 250 words and I doubt that it will this year. No need to add another stressor to my life.

As stressful as some things are in my life this week, I am thankful for my blessings. My dear friend and former promo director left us last week. Part of her reason for going now was because her sister has cystic fibrosis and was under hospice care. She died yesterday. How sad to be 25 and have your 22-year-old sister die? And to have lived your whole life knowing it was going to happen one of these days. I feel so bad for their entire family.

And another friend of ours sells magazines and records and books and ephemera. His warehouse where he keeps all of his inventory burned yesterday and he lost everything and has no insurance. I know he is one of those guys that just barely makes a living and now he has nothing. I don't know what he will do.

So, comparatively, my life is very good right now. Work is weird, but it is work and it is paying me a salary. Dad is sick, but the nurses say that this is a very hard surgery to heal from and they are not surprised that it is taking this long. They will try to wean him again today. I don't know if they tried yesterday, I just heard that he was still out, but that he did "watch" the Cowboys game on Sunday and the nurse put his glasses on him and his eyes opened wider when she told him the Cowboys were on.

I cooked stuffed peppers last night. I needed some real food. They were excellent. I think I'd better eat some more before I go to work.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland