Thursday, Nov. 23, 2006 11:55 pm

Thanksgiving Day

Thanksgiving Day is ending. Ours was pretty boring and uneventful. I'm glad we didn't have to travel, but I miss the traditions and my family.

Dad is still out and in ICU. They are worried now that there might be a blood clot in his arm that is so swollen so today they did a sonogram. Don't know the results yet.

We slept really late, which was very nice. I don't get to do that often. We went to the east side for lunch at the club. Our day was kind of jumbled. We wanted to go to a movie and see the Cowboys play and eat on the east side, but it wasn't going to work out to do them all. I said we could do the movie Sunday. I have a hunch it will never happen, but we'll see. The food was fine at the east side, but it was a little weird. There were just a few people there and lunch was slow so we had to wait and no one was particularly chatty. Then they got it ready and served up nice plates (well, styrofoam to go boxes) with ham and turkey and dressing and sweet potatoes and collard greens. Then sweet potato pie. After we drove around that side of town just a bit and then home.

I really wanted to get a nap, but I laid down before the Cowboys game and couldn't quite relax and then I couldn't nap after the game because it was too late.

So things didn't go my way on our Thanksgiving, but it was my fault that they didn't. I should have napped sometime, Cowboys or not.

I did go to my friend's sister's funeral yesterday in San Antonio. It was very sad. Lots of people there. My friend text msged me last night that she appreciated me being there. I knew that she would. I didn't get to see her there, but I knew she would know I loved her if I came for this.

Work was pretty boring yesterday. I didn't have a lot more to do, but the building was already deserted and everyone had gone for the weekend. That always pisses me off that people get to leave at noon, but I still have a full workday because that's the shift I have. Well, I work tomorrow so they'll owe me a day so I won't feel bad if I take off in the week this week to go take care of family.

Lord, I just saw that the date now (Friday) is the 24th. One short month until Christmas. And no telling what is going to happen in my family between now and then.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland