Monday, Nov. 20, 2006 12:36 pm

Another trip to Dallas

Back in town after a couple of nights in Dallas with the family. Dad is still unconscious, sedated, on pain meds, but they still hope that he will be weaned off the vent today (how many days have they said that?). I hope he is awake soon, but not so soon that he is miserable in the hospital and wants to go home. I worry about Thanksgiving if he is awake and miserable at being in the hospital on such a family day. We are not going up there for Thanksgiving Day. I will try to go up again on Saturday.

My voice has been in great shape since I had that horrible headache on Wednesday night. I'm wondering if my neurons got reprogrammed or something? Thursday was really great, and Friday was pretty good. I talked on the cell phone a LOT going up to Dallas and back because I could! I had to buy a cell phone charger while I was up there because I didn't take one and I used it all up chatting. Don't quite know how good it will be today, but it has been somewhat better for four days now and that is so fun!

Our station sale is the talk of the employees, of course. They are selling off all the smaller markets where we all voice track, so that will cut into many incomes (as much as $30000 for one friend of mine) except that maybe they will keep some sort of arrangement for a while. No telling how it will shake out. My one station will not be sold so I'm okay there. I have heard that even these stations are cutting the voicetracking pay by 20% and if they do that I believe I will just tell them no. I want to respect my value and I want them to respect my value. If they think they can find another jock with the classic library in their system (that's a hard thing to do to begin with) that has my kind of knowledge and wants to work for that price, more power to them. I think they will be stuck. That won't mean that I'll get the job, it just means they will use mediocre people.

I got off the air Friday a little early because of basketball games. Those games caused us lots of headaches on Thursday and Friday. Glad we made it through. The team lost so they played the consolation game early on Friday and I was able to get off and get my other stuff done and head to Dallas by 7 pm. The traffic was still creeping all through town so it still took a long time to get there. I stayed at my sisters since I was going straight to the hospital on Saturday.

Saturday I visited Dad and sat there for a couple of hours. Then I got a cell charger and went out to my Mom's. I bought us some Sonic lunch on the way and we watched Michigan and Ohio State's big game. My cousins came to visit Dad and then came by to see us, too. They were willing to take us to dinner but we were happy wrapped up and dozing by the TV. We watched my Virginia Tech and Wake Forest game, too, and I slept through most of it, I think.

Sunday I took Mom to the hospital and we visited. My sister and younger nephew came by, too. Then sis went home and nephew went to breakfast/lunch with Mom and I. We had a great breakfast of Dutch babies and apple pancakes at the Original Pancake House. Yum. I hadn't eaten there in years.

Got Mom home and watched half of the Cowboy game and then let it entertain me as I went down the road. They beat the unbeaten Colts and that was fun to hear. Got home last night and worked on logs logs logs. I'm already sick of Christmas music and it hasn't even begun yet!

So this week we will see how Dad does. We'll be home for the holiday and I'll work on Friday and be in the parade on Saturday morning and then I will probably go that way again. The traffic may be horrible on Sunday coming home. Ick. Maybe I'll wait until Monday.

Mom and I read some of her old diaries the other night. I always look back on previous holidays from my single days as being restful and easy and we played cards and ate and slept. Reading, though, I saw that I usually worked six to ten a.m. and then went out to the house, so things were every bit as hectic then as they are now. I just lived closer, I guess, and didn't have to take other families into consideration. Things change, but I need to just enjoy the moments I can.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland