Saturday, Nov. 22, 2003 1:01 am

Crappy wife

Another late night, just coming in. And feeling like a crappy wife.

I had a LONG day. Took my car in for some service and waited impatiently for the hour and a half that took. I forgot to take a book with me and I really should have walked over and eaten while they worked. Instead, I just got irritable and cranky and read Entertainment Weekly and made lists of all that needs to be done at work before the holiday.

Went in to work and did get some things accomplished before my show and managed to do some tracking while I was on the air, which is dangerous to be doing two shows at once with different call letters. I didn't screw up even once.

Really wanted to meet with the journal writers at the Gingerman tonight because I like the folks and I like that place. Had to finish up just a few things. A few things took longer than I would have liked and I realized if I went downtown I would have to search for parking and my time would be so limited, I might as well do twenty more minutes of work and then go to my next assignment for work. So I did get a little bit more done to help relieve the stress of the upcoming days (a tiny bit).

It was on the drive to the show that I began feeling like the crappy wife. I called Mark because I hadn't talked to him since noon when I talked to him and found out that he had gone to work and found he wasn't needed today so he had a free day in front of him. Well, turns out he started feeling bad soon after that and had basically been in bed all day, very sick with allergies. When I called he asked if I could bring him some juice and food. If I had talked to him any earlier I could have done it, but I was on my way to this gig now and couldn't so the bad wife made her husband drag himself off his death bed to go to Walgreen's for drugs and juice.

Bad me. I said I wouldn't be long at the Alligator and then I'd be home. ha

Went on to the Alligator for our show. Got there too early and didn't know a soul. The bass player introduced himself to me and we had met in the summer when he was with another band. Cute guy and very nice.

I sat alone and ate some chicken (wishing I could transport it telepathically home to Mark). No one from our station or from the booking agency was there so I thought, I'll just do the introduction and then I'll soon be out of here.

Glitch was, CGP had said he might come. I hated to bail on him if he was coming, but I didn't know. MM, the booker, showed up and I enjoyed visiting with her. Then the intro was made and I was going to stay with her for a few songs just to get the show rolling.

Then I see CGP at the bar. Yes, he had come all the way into town to see me (I know he didn't come to see this band). He was there with a couple of friends, one I had met before and liked. So the three came over and joined up, another friend joined MM and the show rolled on.

This was the first time I'd been with CGP in a long long time. Maybe August? It was really good to see him. We are much more at ease with each other in e-mail since that is our usual mode of communication. And, of course, it was very loud so we couldn't just talk, which may have been a blessing. I don't know what we'd talk about. And, with the loud music, it was like that first night at SXSW where I had to be very very close to talk. I did enjoy that.

See? Crappy wife. Husband is home sick in bed needing meds and juice and I'm out in some gin joint sucking down the beers and breathing in the aftershave of a cute young musician. What kind of woman am I? I guess it gives me something to talk about in therapy this week.

Stayed almost until the end. All the other friends had moved on so CGP walked me out to see the new ride (and someone has STOLEN my Kinky for Gov sticker---what scum!!) and we said goodbye.

Came home and Mark is sick, but no fever and he is resting well. Brought him some little pink pills and he is off in dreamland again. And I will be soon.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland