Friday, Nov. 21, 2003 12:54 am

Music, music, music

So much to do for Thanksgiving. I'm not stressed over cleaning for company or preparing a family meal so much. I'm just stressed at trying to get everything done at work that must be done. It seems like each workday next week is chock full of, well, work and I won't have time to get ahead and do the things that must be done to cover the holidays.

I worked late tonight and then came home and cooked the cornbread and biscuits for my dressing for next week. One little step accomplished. I also painted the front door with its first coat of paint. It is a pretty red now. I hope that brings some good feng shui into the house. Although the only improvement I need on my career is more free time.

Big show last night at the Paramount with Pat and Cory. It was really good. The sound system was excellent and I sat next to a really nice couple that love the station and listen all the time. Pat was more wasted on stage than I've ever seen him, but maybe it was lack of sleep with the new baby. Cory wore shoes and nice clothes and had the best performance I've ever seen him do and I've seen him a lot.

After the show I was heading over to our deal at Midnight Rodeo, but decided to drop into the Continental to see Mark. I knew he'd be there to see Jon Dee. He was and was happy to see me. We enjoyed his phenomenal show and then Mark went on to the Saxon. I stayed and watched James McMurtry for a while. I have only seen him at the American Music festival in Helotes on Labor Day and that wasn't a good place because I was backstage and couldn't really hear him. It took him a while to warm up last night, but once he did he had some amazing wordsmithing in his songs.

And speaking of amazing wordsmiths. I got to have Rodney Crowell on my show yesterday. We recorded the interview before the show but I aired it as if he were there for the full hour and played the songs we talked about so he was my "virtual guest dj." He was very nice and incredibly intelligent. I didn't have that "click" I have with some of the artists, but he was impressed with my research and knowledge. The next interviewer blew his first question by asking something gushy and that sort of soured their interview.

I'm really having an incredible year of meeting artists. I'll have to look back in my diary and see how many it has been.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland