Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2003 12:42 am

LYLE!! Love It!

I have had a lovely couple of days.

Saturday I worked a long day. A little frustrating because of glitches with the remotes I was doing... information I had received was incorrect, interns didn't do their jobs, no one knew that the remotes were to be going on so there was no pre-publicity, etc. etc. My Chinese herbs seemed to be doing their job and I remained unaddled.

Saturday night I was at the Spoke for the Derailers and it was fun to see them in their spangly suits looking so fine. The best looking band in town (maybe Texas?). I was dolled up and looking pretty fine and got the eye from many handsome men. Made me feel young and desirable.

I put on chili for the cold Sunday watching football. Made for a nice afternoon.

THEN, what a great Sunday night! Mark has still been feeling sick, but we weren't going to miss Lyle Lovett in San Antonio. We got down to the Majestic just in time for a glass of wine and the show. We thought there must be an opening act since it started so early, but it was straight to Lyle. He played a solid two and a half hours of vivid, soaring, literate, fabulous music. It had to be the best I've ever seen him (and I've lost count but I think it has been at least 8 times).

Lyle didn't have Francine Read or the black backup singers this time around, except for Jason Essridge, a man with waist-length cornrows, and a choir from a San Antonio church to sing the gospel songs. He had Russ Kunkel on drums, which thrilled Mark, Matt Rollins on piano as usual, Victor Krauss on bass, Buck Reed on steel, Ray Herndon on guitar, (augh I've forgotten the mandolin player's name--maybe John Wright? or Jeff?), John Hagen on cello, Gene Elders on fiddle, Mitch Watkins on guitar and the percussion player that is always with him but I have forgotten his name, too. James?

Lyle sang lots of songs from the new album and so many great songs from Pontiac and the Large Band album. Songs I haven't heard from him live in years or maybe even ever. I'm not sure I've ever heard Pontiac live. It was incredible.

I'm running out of adjectives. For the encore he did Here I Am and on the line "as Hank Williams is to Neil Armstrong" he changed Neil to Lance. He did that last time I saw him at the Backyard and got a huge ovation. This time though he said the line and out walked Lance Armstrong. That was cool He "sang" along on the song but substitued "Number six" instead of "you" on the line "all I want is you." He left the stage then and out came Sheryl Crow and sang along on Church.

The crowd was so respectful and quiet. I will go see him again anytime I can at the Majestic.

Topped off the night with Weinerschnitzel dogs in San Marcos and an eggnog shake. An eggnog shake to usher in the season.

Today was the interview with Kelly Willis.... I'll save that for another entry.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland