Friday, Nov. 18, 2005 9:48 am

Mark is gone

I do not like:

People who call it "Turkey Day."

There, I've said it. Please don't use that around me. I had a couple more things that I do not like, but I've already forgotten them. Which is fine. No need to be critical at this thankful time of year.

Mark left on his trip last night and I miss him a lot this morning. Of course, I couldn't have begun a project that started last night if he had been home. Well, I could have, but I wouldn't have. I pulled down all the stuff on top of the kitchen cabinets. Ick, what a greasy mess. I'm going to wash them all (this morning? Maybe.) and put something else up there or at least thin down what I have. It has gotten really junkie in six years. I do love my big colorful Pyrex bowls. I have a set of four and a couple more. And a wonderful Bauer bowl that belonged to my mother-in-law's mother-in-law. I do like my bowls. Maybe only the bowls will stay.

I am finally going to do some music today with the Hamster. I swear it was two weeks ago when I still couldn't talk on the air that he wanted to do music, but we never did. And I've got to give more thought this morning to Christmas music. It begins a little bit next week.

Last night after I took Mark to his truck for his trip, I ended up being so lazy. I should have been writing or doing something for the holidays, but I watched three Apprentice episodes and ate some cheese soup. What excitement. It was interesting to see on the Apprentice a deal about XM radio and there was a guy I used to work with. I haven't seen him in at least 10 or more years. I didn't know him much and he wouldn't know me at all, but we did, technically work together. He's always been a big shot in radio and still is.

I read yesterday about the creator of Dilbert, Scott Adams, possibly having spasmodic dysphonia like I have. Poor man. Didn't sound like it had been completely diagnosed yet, but he said that he could speak normally if he used a British accent! I know that sounds weird, but you are tricking the mind into using different nerves or firing the nerves differently so that they aren't spasming. I can talk normally (if I remember what normal feels like!) when I am laughing. I've noticed that from the beginning of this adventure that only THAT felt good. It's a moment when your brain's function is altered and it is working differently. I will have to try the British accent today! I can only really test my voice when I'm talking to people. Talking alone at home doesn't do the same thing (not that it is normal by any means). Anyway, the voice is still tight in casual conversation, but okay on the air. Not much gasping yesterday.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland