Thursday, Nov. 17, 2005 10:07 am

Writing on

I can see that I am using up some of my writing juice on the novel instead of putting it here and in emails. That's a good thing. I am up to 30,000 words and moving on. Now my worry is that I am not sure where this story is really going to end. And it may be way beyond 50,000 words, but I've got to get them all written before November ends. Of course, I can make a scene shorter if necessary and flesh it out later in the editing. But, first, I've got to find that ending!

I enjoy this cooler weather we are finally getting into. Yesterday I watered the outdoor plants to prevent freezing and brought in a few of the real tropicals, but it didn't freeze. These tropicals will be a lot happier in the house this week anyway.

Today would have been my grandfather's 106th birthday. He only died six years ago at 100 years old. He was an interesting man. I have a LOT of him in me. The writing bug being one thing. He was a poet. I don't know that he ever wrote anything except poems and letters to the Baptist Standard and long letters to his family, but he was prolific at those things. He wrote a poem a day, every day. Some days he wrote a dozen. Almost all were simple four line poems with the biggest words you and imagine and most were religious or theological or were simply diatribes against Brother Criswell, the pastor of the biggest church in the state in Dallas.

I'm really enjoying the yoga class. Our regular teacher was back yesterday and he is such a kind person. This is a religion to him (I suppose) and you can feel it in his words and actions. We concentrated on the fifth chakra yesterday and I was hoping it would help my voice. It sure can't hurt. I am sounding very good again, but it isn't easy to talk. I will say it is not really difficult right now. Announcing is still easier than just talking and just talking sounds very strained and takes effort, but on the air I can have a little more fun because I can say more than three words without gasping. I'll ride it as long as I can. Johnny Bush called me yesterday and gave me some support. I had heard he had had an operation and I knew that couldn't be true so I had emailed. He called to confirm that, no, he hadn't had an operation and wouldn't risk that unless it was the only treatment possible or they improved it tremendously.

Mark leaves town tonight for a couple of nights away with lab gigs. I hope I can get a lot done on my novel while he's gone and also get a lot done in preparation for Thanksgiving. I tested a spinach dip/dish last night and it got a big thumbs up from Mark last night.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland