Saturday, Nov. 12, 2005 12:43 pm

Workday frustrations

I have been writing on my NaNoWriMo novel today and made some headway. I need to make a lot of headway since Tuesday should be the halfway point. Am I close to the halfway point of 25000 words? Not hardly! I am up to 14000 or so. And it isn't that I am not inspired, it just seems tedious. I compare it to the attempt to mow your lawn with scissors. You know exactly how to do it and you can see exactly where you're going and how it will be done, it just takes time and effort. Hopefully, my novel results will better than just having a mowed lawn, so maybe that analogy is lame.

I had frustration at work yesterday. Just little things that piss me off. One, a saleswoman had asked if Wendy's could deliver a special sort of new hamburger to me so that I could sample it and then rave on the radio about it. Sure, I could do that. She arranged it with another saleswoman that I don't know to bring it to the station. Yesterday it dawns on me that I haven't seen this hamburger so I check my email to make sure I have the right day. I go and look in the kitchen and see no evidence of this food coming to the station. Next thing I know, Cotton is calling me from the studio asking if I need these Wendy's copy points for my show. I said, Yes, I guess so, but is there a burger to go with them? No, no burger. This leads to phone calls from the saleswoman and anger between Cotton and her and everyone is wondering where the hamburgers have gotten off to and we're wondering if the big fat man ate them before he left. Turns out, the saleswoman that was to deliver them doesn't know me personally and didn't really know who this burger was supposed to go to so she just dropped them off somewhere. Cotton brings me a cold burger and fries after I've been on the air a half hour. I think they had been at the station a total of two hours now. Delicious, you bet! I tossed most of it, ate some of the patty with the cheese sauce on it, gagged at the bacon and mushrooms that were beyond gross by this point, made a little plug on the radio and went on.

Then, talking about Veteran's Day pissed me off. I mentioned that a caller had said how we needed to remember more than just the vets of WWII and Korea and not forget the vets of the Revolutionary War and those that brought our country its freedom in the first place. Simple enough, right? Makes sense? THEN the calls start ocming in bitching at me... YOU didn't mention the Vietnam Veteran's. My husband is a Vietnam veteran and blah blah blah. Then the calls "Just because I didn't serve in wartime doesn't mean I'm not a VETERAN... blah blah nag nag" I got REALLY pissed off at these callers. They do NOT listen to the message, they only nitpick at one particular unsaid thing.

And it was funny that the whole thing was begun by a guy that misunderstood earlier in the week. I had mentioned two of the veteran's that began our station and then said I could not think of the names of the other two veterans that began our station. He called and jumped on with all fours about "YOU can't think of any veteran's to name? How about George Washington? How about..." I was going WAIT, I was talking about two SPECIFIC veterans from Austin that started THIS station. Oh, oh, (picture Emily Littella here) Never mind. He felt bad, which he should have. No telling how many people hear something I say and think "That stupid girl" when they have no idea what they heard.

Mark's gone to do the Sheryl show today. I don't know when he will be back home. I plan on writing some more and then watching football. If Mark isn't going to be home tonight I may go to the Spoke and see Bruce. Just a thought and I may be too happy being at home to do it, but it is a possibility.

Meanwhile, I will get back to Aggie and Mike, the characters in my nanowrimo. It is almost time for Aggie to DIE! No, Mike doesn't kill her. Not intentionally, anyway.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland