Monday, Nov. 01, 2004 11:28 am

Five Years

Five whole years. Can you believe it? It's been five years since I began this journal. Thanks to Jette who suggested diaryland.com at that very first meeting of the Austin journalers at the Texpresso.

I always remember that it is my anniversary because of the Texas Book Festival. It was going on this weekend since I've been many times and love it, but ended up not going. It was so hot this weekend and I've been there when it is hot and it isn't much fun. I also wanted Mark to go with me, but he didn't want to go.

I did have a wonderful massage on Saturday from a really cute young man. He was from Amarillo, too, which is so funny. I run into so many people from Amarillo and it comes up in the conversation so early! He did a great job and we chatted through it all. His mother had died this summer and was only 46. That made me feel old.

Saturday night Mark did backline at the Spoke so he went over and saw the end of the show. I thought about going, but he didn't encourage (or discourage) so I ended up staying home and watching a movie (Love Actually).

Sunday I went to celebrate my accordion teacher's birthday with her and her friends. She had had a shitty birthday on Saturday with no gift or card or dinner from her husband so she was bummed by all of that. She had been to the Spoke that night, so it made me wish I had gone so I could have helped her have fun. Her friends were really neat and I enjoyed the lunch, although the restaurant was really loud.

Sunday afternoon I finally had time to just sort through crap at home and work on some computer files and do stuff. It was very pleasant. Got a little nap in before the trick or treaters started ringing the doorbell. We went to a neighbors for a hot dog and visited with lots of folks. The weather was perfect for Halloween. My favorite costume was on a little neighbor 1-year-old... he had on a devil sleeper and carried a pitchfork. He didn't quite know what was going on, but his parents were sure proud of him and I don't blame them.

Today I am busily getting ready for a Happy Hour with my Race for the Cure team this evening. I want to know people and introduce them, so I am studying what I know about them. I wish I had pictures, too, but I hope I can learn them fast tonight.

The cool weather came in with the rain last night and it feels more fallish today. I'm so glad it is finally here. It has been just too damn hot. I want to go by and get some decorations for Day of the Dead. There was a wonderful altar up at Matt's yesterday and I want to do something similar tonight to honor all my family and friends that died this year.... so many!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland