Friday, Nov. 05, 2004 9:34 am

Election and my stranglehold

I just took a peek at the registry for a friend of mine's wedding in January. Lordy, they want a lot of stuff. I wonder if people really think through what they are doing when they register. Do you really want someone to spend $200 on a roasting pan that you'll use once a year (if you're lucky)? I registered for china and crystal and that was all. Maybe it burdened people that wanted to give us something we wanted and needed and there was nothing left to give, but, then again, maybe then it just made them give us money. I liked the individual gifts and I liked the money. I appreciated them all. But I know I enjoyed opening presents and having no idea what someone had chosen to give us more than the "oh it is a glass like we registered for." I was thrilled to complete our sets, but I also enjoyed the unique. And I'm glad I don't have a $200 roasting pan in my cabinet. I wouldn't use it, but, knowing how much it was worth, I couldn't just put it in a garage sale either. You could buy throw-away roasting pans for 20 years and not have to scrub them if you just used that money differently.

That's not where I intended to go today. I haven't even mentioned the election, but I guess you are all aware that President Bush won reelection. I think there are a lot of people in this country that were turned off by Democrats whining for the last four years. I know I was. I liked John Kerry, but I could just imagine how cocky things would have been if he had won and people said "See, Gore should have won in '00." I know Democrats are still saying that 54 million people were stupid and misguided, but there are different needs and agendas for everyone. A vote for George Bush doesn't mean you are for war in Iraq or against gay marriage, a vote for John Kerry didn't mean you were primarily concerned about health care and taxes.

I am mostly thrilled this week because I may be on the track to finding the cure for my breathing difficulties. It may be acid reflux. I'd had a couple of people suggest that to me and that just seemed silly. I don't have indigestion, stomach problems of any kind, burbing, etc. But I have a cousin that completely lost his voice and went to the Army hospital Walter Reed in Washington and various other places for help and it was finally determined to be caused by acid reflux. I did a google on acid reflux voice and found all sorts of interesting information, especially about how there may be no stomach symptoms at all.

I've been taking some Tagamet of my mother's and using Maalox and have actually had moments where I'm talking normally again and don't feel the stranglehold. I hope it continues. Last night I ate chili too late in the evening and I'm still feeling it in my throat. That may not have been a good choice for dinner. It doesn't even sound good at all today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland