May 03, 2003 11:53 pm

Wild Cat

I have had some goofy sleep lately. I hope getting two more kitties placed in their new home will help return my sleep world to normal. Getting my snoring husband back in my bed is probably what I need more than anything.

Yesterday morning I was awakened at 5 a.m. by the sound of a cat banging on the kitty door trying to get it open and get out. I got up to see about Nathan (thinking it was him) and I didn't have my glasses on. I am blind, but I could see that it was a grey cat. It was only by his actions that I knew this wasn't Nathan. This cat went berserk!!! He flew through the living room into the dining area in the kitchen and like a bird caught in the house, he flew at the window. It wouldn't allow his escape so he was running along the top of about 7 potted plants on that window sill--mostly cactus-- and they were crashing down as he ran. He jumped to the counter and to the plants behind the kitchen sink and knocked them akimbo and broke off a tall cactus. He ricocheted back into the living area and to the garage door again and I got it open for him this time to torpedo through, never to be seen again.

Not good for a peaceful night of sleep.

I read for an hour or two and went back to sleep finally. When I woke up later in the morning I had one of my sick unbearable headaches. Really bad news. I called and sent my regrets for an 11 a.m. meeting I was supposed to be in. I took Tylenol with codeine and collapsed into sleep again. I woke up at noon and the worst of the headache was gone, now I just felt like a vise grip had been removed from the sides of my head and the bruises all over my body remained. I had to do some commercials here in my studio at home and my own loud voice made the headache start inching back. I fought it again with lovely Tylenol 3. I crept into work late, trying to remain quiet. I went on the air and spent the time during many of the long sweeps of music and commercials laying on the studio floor.

Today I was better. Still a little woozy and bruised, but lots better. I did a remote at the boat place, was on the air, went to Cinco de Mayo to do an introduction. Stayed for Ricky Calmbach and a new young Nashville artist--Jennifer Hanson-- that was very good.

Glad to be home tonight, even though I was still cleaning up dirt from the night of the wild cat. Tomorrow I'm up early to deliver two baby kitties to Waco (to go on to Dallas---don't worry, I know what those Baylor baseball players do to kitties) and then I'm going to go enjoy hot coffee with the journal writers by the lake.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland