Thursday, May. 31, 2007 10:48 am

Graduation

The last day of May already? How time does fly! I am rested and refreshed and ready to dig into the next few days of work.

First, my goal for June is to get this office cleaned out and cleaned up and sorted and streamlined. After some time in my sister's office, I know I need to keep mine under control a little bit more. I want to be able to write at the desk and find the office supply I need. Mark got me a CD rack, so I will use it. And we brought back a chiffarobe from Mom's and I might even be able to get it in here, too. We'll see what will work, but that is my goal. Finishing the quilt is a goal, too, but it is secondary in June. It will be priority in July if I don't have it done yet.

I was very grateful to have time off to be with the family over the weekend. I didn't check the company email or deal with work at all for all of Sunday and Monday and most of Tuesday (only one call that day). I saw things from a different perspective.

My nephew's graduation, of course, was the highlight of the weekend, and the purpose for the trip. What a great day to see such an achiever walk across that stage. He is a determined young man with the highest standards I've ever seen in a teenager and I admire him so much. I really think great things can come from him and his life. He was given a used Mercedes convertible for his graduation gift (they've had it for months and he's been chomping at the bit to actually get to drive it) and he was thrilled. He is very very cute driving that car. The girls are going to be drawn to the car, for sure.

My older nephew was there this weekend, too, and his girlfriend came over for dinner one night. It was so fun to visit with her and get to know more about her. She is a sweet girl and they were very cute together. They are very comfortable and loving without public displays of affection. There was no mean teasing or put downs, just sweetness.

My brother-in-law went to Vegas yesterday for a convention and my sister will go today. She is so depressed, I hope she survives and is happier after getting some well deserved rest. She is so negative that it makes it very difficult to be around her. Very reminiscent of the first time we knew she was depressed after the second baby was born and she broke her leg. Everything was wrong with the world and those around her. You could say the sky was blue and she would see a downside to that and disagree. Only a little of the anger was directed at me this weekend (though there was some because she is having to deal with all of Daddy's estate and Mom's care without me there). I tried to listen and be helpful and not comment or control. I cleaned up the kitchen after dinner on Tuesday night because she was so worn out.

I also visited my mother through all of this. I bought her a new monitor for her computer because her big bulky one will probably not fit when she gets the new computer hutch in two weeks. We watched the new show On The Lot on Monday night and cheered for our friend Will who is a contestant and is doing well.

My sister was very weepy through the weekend. Sometimes it was over her baby graduating, sometimes over her frustrations, some was even still over Daddy's death. My older nephew prayed a sweet prayer at dinner and said something about Baba being there with us in spirit and she got weepy. Also, during a conversation about her current state she said that her husband had suggested maybe she was down because "the only man that ever completely loved her is gone." I had to have clarification on that and was surprised when she said, "He meant Daddy." I said, Do you feel that way? She said, oh, yes, a parent's love is complete and unconditional and he was completely supportive. I said maybe she has a different perspective since she IS a parent and knows how parents feel about their children, but I didn't have that feeling from Daddy at all. Sure, he loved me, but I think there were conditions on it and the support was sketchy. But she is searching for answers and I know she needs to grieve, so I hope that helps her.

Mark drove up on Tuesday for the graduation after a very late night on the east side, so he was worn out. We were all worn out after 710 graduates walked across that stage. He and I went on to Mother's old house and got Dad's car started and took it back to my sister's. We went through a lot of the stuff there and were able to load up the chiffarobe and a stool and some other items that were to be mine. We came on back and had the graduation dinner and cleaned up and then we crashed.

Drove home yesterday morning after a stop in Irving to drop off some cymbals. A big storm hit while we were there and we were driving in rain and wind for quite a way. We cut over to Fort Worth and that may have gotten us out of it a little bit early. We stopped in Waco for a fabulous Cupps burger. I had forgotten how fabulous that place is. It felt like our honeymoon or a bluebonnet trip again.

We got home after two so there was only time to brush my teeth, pet the kitties, sit on the porch for the briefest minute, and then go to work. I did take a Xanax at work, so I don't know if I was as calm as I thought I was, or if the drug helped, but I survived the day at least. There was more than 100 emails to sort through, plus just the usual getting back into the swing of things. The young intern came to be on the air a minute and he hung around a lot. I had lots to "fix" on the computers and in my world and he thought I had time to talk. A little irritating, but I do enjoy his company. I had the interviews through the afternoon and then Rick was the big show at the cafe. It was a great night there. He really knocked their socks off and the crowd was big. Really a good show. We had some glitches with the on-air part. My fault. I forgot to remove a command that screws things up. My fault totally.

The after party was fine. A good crowd. I finally got out about 12 and came home to sit on the porch some and go to bed. Today we start the hospital radiothon. Wonderful cause, but so full of emotion that it makes for a hard day. And when I leave it, I have to go straight to a remote at a bar. So another long day. I commit to some of things and don't realize what impact it will have on me at the time. But it will have a nice impact on my next paycheck, so I'm not complaining. I am a money magnet and this proves it! Money is pouring my way and I am living abundantly!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland