Saturday, Jun. 02, 2007 3:51 pm

Radiothon ends

The radiothon for the hospital went well. We thought we were going to be about 50,000 dollars short at the end and two big donations came through for us and brought us within about 7000 dollars of last years fundraising. It wasn't as emotional this year and didn't feel like it had the momentum. Our morning man was bitching about the promotions department dropping the ball, but I don't feel that it was all in their court. I think the hospital didn't do as much on their end this year either. We need to all make notes about how to best accomplish the goals next year. I made some notes and I want to think about it further and get them down so we don't forget. I was irritated at our interns and staff that were less than helpful on Thursday. We had a better crew on Friday. I don't want to be a diva, but I am pretty much tied to that desk and those headphones and need people to move things through and let me know what's up next.

So, anyway, we made it through. The remote Thursday was pretty crazy. Too many chiefs. It was a remote set up through an agency for a brand of rum. But FCC regs prevent talking about the rum at the same time we talk about the venue. So we are mainly talking about the Chesney tour. But the venue thought we would have tickets. The distributor for the rum was there and he thought we would have tickets. Too many people that hadn't communicated. The agency people (with the answers) weren't there. I was just glad it was over. Several of my friends were there by that time, but I said goodbye and left.

I did talk to Trent Summar who was in town and he asked me to play accordion with him at ACLFest. We'll see if that happens, but it sure would be a hoot to add to my resume!

Last night I was dog tired after the radiothon, but I came home and cleaned up and ate and then went back to the station. I'll be back up there again tonight to do the Texas show so that I don't have to go up there tomorrow. I will get something thrown together. I don't know if it will be good. I have a remote tonight so I hope I can swing by the station after and get this stuff done.

I just had lunch with B! I really wanted to just stay home and in today, but I figured I'd better take the opportunity to see her while I can. She and her sister and her sweet friend Laurie and I went to Vivo and ate outside and enjoyed it. We went to Ross after and bought a bathmat and sweeper (for me) and a skirt (for her). I love her, but I feel our difference more than our similarities now. Hard to pin down what frustrates me about her and why, but things do: her barefootedness, her inside jokes, her frugality. She said she might be open to another job in Hawaii and felt that her boyfriend would go with her. I don't think she sees how highly unlikely that is. The guy hasn't lived anywhere but this one house for 30 years and has never left his hometown. I think she see that SHE did it once and he would be able to do it, too, but she forgets that she was in her 30s, he is in his 50s, plus she has always traveled and had a sense of adventure. I didn't argue.

My friend M&M is dealing with her dad's cancer. Talked to her today and she was on the road to his house. They will do surgery Monday morning on his colon. She is worried about this old man in his condition. I understand completely. Daddy survived the surgery, but not the post-op. It is hard on these old men with thin blood and COPD. She and I talked about a vacation next weekend on her way home. I wish we were out of the book so that could be a little easier. We'll see if it can happen.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland