Thursday, May. 19, 2005 9:48 am

Alarms

Our new maids had a real adventure yesterday. I got to work and realized about 2 o'clock that I had not put out a key and I had set the alarm on the house. I called Mark to see if he could go back to the house to set things right. He said that he HAD put out a key... Meaning the girls had a key to unlock the door and then no way to un-alarm the house.

But they had already been there. The poor things got there and called their supervisor when the alarm started going off (thank goodness for cell phones) and she called Mark and he gave her the codes. By then the police were already at the house and doing a quick walk through to make sure everything was legit. Poor girls. But, nice to know that the police do show up that quickly, and nice to know that our alarm service really does work. When you go for years without setting it off, you wonder. I don't know that the police have ever come to our house here.

Now, in Dallas it was a different story. When Mark and I were dating I would go to his house frequently. I had a key. One night I went over there even though he wasn't off of work yet. His roomate had a job late at night so I waited until he was gone to go over. So I go to this unoccupied house, use my key, and the alarm starts going off. I'm grabbing the phone and calling Mark at work to get the code and it is shrieking so loudly that I can't hear him. I finally get it off and the police are at the door. A few questions and they don't haul me away to jail.

And then there was the time that Mark had moved in with me, maybe a month before the wedding. He had transferred the alarm to our house, but hadn't gotten everything arranged yet with the alarm company as to who to call first if there was an alarm. Somehow we set it off. We knew the code, of course, so we reset it and went to bed. Unbeknownst to us, the alarm company didn't have our house phone number (yes, before cell phones) so they were calling Mark's old house phone number and getting no answer. Then they called my sister's phone number and told them that our alarm had gone off. My brother-in-law had to pull on clothes and shoes and drive over (only about a half-mile) to our house to check on us. Mark stumbles to the door in his shorts and assures brother-in-law that all was well. But, the jig is up and now my sister knows Mark is living with me. Oh well... deal with it. She did.

As for life in 2005... We had a great show at the cafe last night with Roger. My voice was still pretty shot, but it wasn't as bad as Tuesday, it seemed, so I made it through. I'm doing a lot better this morning after a good night of sleep. Roger put on the best, most energetic show. He really had the audience in the palm of his hand and it was a HUGE crowd again. Very interesting to see who can pull those huge crowds and entertain them so well.

Came home and watched Idol and am pumped up for the big finale next week!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland