May 19, 2002 1:29 am

Saturday (I know--that doesn't tell you anything)

Here it is, another week gone by and still no rain. It was a beautiful day though.

Busy week. Dwight Yoakam was good. We went to Speakeasy after and saw our broken friend Shane there. He was sitting up and clothed and looking very normal. They even got him an electric bass and he managed to play one song with his left (broken) wrist over the top of the neck.

Speaking of Shane, if you should read this on Sunday, the 19th, come on down to Mother Egan's tonight for the benefit for Shane. He needs living expenses, not to mention medical expenses, and this being the first benefit will probably be the best.

Thursday night I went to the Carousel for the first time but got there too late. I need to go back before midnight when the band is still playing. Cool interior though! Gotta study it!

Went over to Ginny's to see Dale Watson and saw Mike Judge play bass with him, which was a trip. Inspired me though. I came home and recorded a voice clip and sent it to a guy that is casting for an animated feature. I've never been a "voice actor" but I'd really like to try.

Another nice stroke of luck was another commercial from an out-of-town station came my way. Haven't heard back from them yet as to whether they were happy. I hope it turns in to more business, but I wasn't entirely happy with the finished project (TOO MANY WORDS!).

I have been working behind the scenes in order to get myself some broadcast remotes at the station. I don't begrudge weekenders or anyone on the air getting to do remotes, but when some do THREE remotes on a Saturday, or the perkytitted former cheerleader has at least one every weekend, I start wanting my share. I laid the groundwork by calling the PD that doesn't like me and leaving messages that he didn't return. Then today, the PD that does like me came by. I told him I wanted to work more, I wanted to be busy, I wanted remotes. He said, "Someone told me that you were uncomfortable doing remotes." I kind of hope evil PD told angelic PD that I didn't like remotes and that angelic PD remembers that it was evil PD that planted this wrong information. What I really hope is that I can make a cool bundle of cash next weekend for Memorial Day.

I will have Monday, Memorial Day, as a holiday. Well, I have a day off, but I don't get paid for it, does that count as a holiday? It's been a long long time since I've had a job where you automatically get a day off. The last good job, you could have the day off but you had to do that 8 hours of work sometime the previous day. Not always easy to manage, or worth it.

The doctor's office job has hired an office manager and I will meet her Monday. I hope I like her and I can learn from her. It will be kind of nice to be a "senior staffer" now (after three months).

I borrowed a good feng shui book from my acupuncturist today so I am going to go read it some more and see what I need to do to my career bagua to get things moving fast down the right track. Of course, knowing what the right track is might help.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland