May 13, 2002 10:16 am

The Band is back in town

I went to see Guy Forsyth last night and it really blew me away. I learned at one time or another that a band gets really, really good when they go on tour. Being together and playing the same songs night after night is great practice. So I always make an effort to go see one of Mark's gigs after a tour. It certainly paid off last night. The whole band was amazing. It really took me back to the first time I saw Guy, four or five years ago, and was just blown away. It amazes me even more that Mark is a part of that! He isn't the kind of drummer that Mambo John was when we first saw Guy. But he is amazing in his own way and it was perfect for last night. More proof you shouldn't try to imitate or be something you are not. Be yourself and be the best at being you.

Guy's girlfriend Wendy sang with them last night some, too. She was on part of the tour with them but I hadn't met her. She electrified things when she was on the stage. It is hard to pull the spotlight from Guy, but she did without even trying. Great voice, great stage presence. And really nice too. I met her right after in the bathroom and she had heard all about me from Mark on that tour. "He sure loves you. . .and the kitty." Weird little quirk, she mentioned a gig she did last week and I said, "I think I heard you interviewed on the radio last week." I had. She was on KUT on Saturday night. Now, the odds of me hearing a Saturday night interview on KUT are incredibly slim, but I heard it coming home from my radio station last weekend. It's a small world ha. (that is an inside joke I don't think I've ever explained here, but will someday)

Yesterday I worked the Mother's Day crowd at the cafe. It wasn't too bad. Some folks that don't ever eat out take Mother's Day to eat out. Sadly, these people don't know how to tip for the most part. Or pay! One family left the waiter about $10 short on the ticket. People, people, people.

I had to leave the lunch shift early and go on to the radio station. I was too tired to be too incredible on the air, but I made it through and was quite glad I'd finished my other work and didn't have to stay past 7.

Today starts another busy, fun week. I'm going to see Dwight Yoakam on Wednesday and Mark gets to go with me. Cafe Tuesday and Thursday nights, day work every day and lots of projects at home. This cooler weather will make it a lot easier, but dammit, I want some rain!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland