May 24, 2002 7:58 pm

Friday night at home ALONE

An evening home! My first in days and days. Mark is playing in Beaumont with Shawn Pittman so I am free to be me!

The big benefit for Shane on Sunday was quite fun and I hope it brought in some good money. I felt I did my part because my old high school buddy Bryan and his brother came and participated. My acupunturist and other acupunturist friend came and brought friends. I saw lots of friends I hadn't seen in a long while. Lots of good entertainment too. I want to go see Walter Traggert again, he was excellent, as was Rev. Ben T and the Well Kept Secret. Alejandro Escovedo, High Noon, Dale Watson, Seth Walker, everyone of them did a great job.

Of course, I paid the price Monday. I was not hung over, just exhuasted. After 8 hours at the benefit and being up past 3 a.m., I was pooped. Dragged to work that afternoon then came home and crashed.

All of the rest of this week I've been at the restaurant each night and it hasn't been so bad at all. I even made a little bit of money last night. And my manager finally said nice things to me about my work and suggested that he would like to have me in management there if I were interested. I don't think I am, but it is nice to be wanted. And nice to not leave there hating it and wanting to quit.

I've done commercials this week and lots of work from home and I've done lots of transcription work from home, too. This has been a very busy week for the doctors, with one leaving on vacation tomorrow. I have been one busy little bee cranking out report after report. Doesn't bother me a bit to bring home work from there and get to do it here at my own little desk.

In fact, I may prefer to work from home even more now. The new office manager began. She is very nice. I mean VERY VERY nice. The kind of nice that drives you nuts. It will take some adjustment to get used to Miss Sunshine. She is also incredibly loud and talkative when clients call for appointments or she calls insurance companies. I can hardly hear my tapes that I am transcribing. We'll see if I can get used to that. At least she doesn't bother me while I'm working. If I am intent and have my earpieces in, she doesn't bother me at all.

Oh, in addition all previously mentioned work, I, of course, was on the radio all week. I was quite unhappy with the evil PD and his slowness in doing a task that must be done before I can do my task. So instead of me making ONE trip to the station to do my job, I was required to going there THREE times. I got made enough about that and other things to call and write the angel PD. He's been out of town but he called me immediately upon his return today and was very sweet. I probably was too cranky when I wrote the e-mail but I do feel that evil PD is hoping to stymie into quitting.

As for being busy this weekend with a shitload of remotes? Guess that ain't a gonna happen. That does leave me with, as of this moment on Friday night, no obligation on Monday. Knock on wood. Nothing would please me more than to just drive out to Marble Falls or someplace with Mark and forget about work and the city for a few hours.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland