Saturday, Mar. 31, 2007 8:19 am

Saturday unfolds

I think it must be oak pollen that is doing a number on my sinuses. On Thursday the car had that look of someone gone wild with a yellow grease pencil which means "oak pollen season!" It won't last long, but it sure is messy and snotty. I am not sick, by any means, but I am having to snort the Afrin a little more often.

We had some wild storms yesterday. I was up early to go to eat BBQ with a saleswoman and a client and then she called, wondering if we should go. That was the first I knew of the tornado rotating around Dripping Springs. All ended up well, but that storm was across our path for quite a while so we opted out of lunch yet again. I want to get this lunch over with (as well as enjoy a good lunch) and get it scheduled.

So instead of that lunch I went to the Shady Grove to meet about the music series with our promotions and sales and M&M's "staff". It was fun to meet with them, and it makes me grateful that I just really have to show up, I don't have to DO anything. And I did find out for sure last night that I am still handsomely paid for my services at the series, so no need to get cranky about that at all. Hooray.

I talked to Jack yesterday on the air. I love Jack. Everyone loves Jack. He was sweet enough to notice that my voice was good, too. I appreciate people remembering the struggle and noticing that it is back (to their ears anyway).

I was at the station super late last night, getting the Texas show done and promos and more. I don't know how I am going to see my mother this week if I am working until 11 p.m. each night. Friday will probably be the hardest night. I guess I need to prepare as much as I can to get things done during my show.

I did get the mattress dilemma solved and I'm glad it is turning out okay (Still not 100% there yet). I did hear from the guy, I did buy the mattress and saved a couple of hundred dollars (so worth the worry, right?), but they can't deliver it until Sunday at noon. Mark will be home then, though, so I hope it arrives on time and is good and everything will be close to ready when I get home with Mom. I do have to stop somewhere and get a new mattress protector. I won't get new sheets just yet.

Mark had a great moment yesterday. He called me on the air because he was so excited. He had a good day in Shreveport doing what he needed to do. He wended his way back to his folks and ate dinner in Carthage. He got back to Tyler and saw a pawn shop that he has wanted to go to in the past, but it has always been closed. This time he was there five minutes before closing. Long story short, he found a fabulous cymbal for $21 that pinged along with Bob Wills in the 50s. It had belonged to the drummer Casey Dickens that we met several years ago. Or at least that's sort of what the pawn shop told him. I talked to him later and he had gotten in touch with Casey and Casey was fuzzy on the story. I expect he will go have a long visit with Casey today before he comes home and I am so glad. At his age, Casey may not be around for another visit and I would hate for Mark to miss out on being with him some more and learning more about him.

So I am up early for a remote. I need to get a back packed and clean my car out, too. I am going to strike out for Mom's as soon as I get done and make a stop along the way for shirts at Eddie Bauer's. That is the plan for the day.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland