Sunday, Mar. 23, 2008 11:08 am

Our Easter and bluebonnets

I've gotten so bad about journaling here. I need to make more of an effort to do it daily, whether I get things written in my other diaries or not.

We had a lovely day yesterday seeing bluebonnets and driving. We haven't done that in so long. The bluebonnets were not out in full force, but there were some patches of pretty color and a couple of places where there were people taking pictures out beside the road.

Mark thought we might have to call the whole day off or at least cut it short. A girl he sometimes plays with had asked him to play last night, but she asked several months ago. He didn't commit at the time because it was so far away, but found out yesterday that she WAS counting on him for the gig. He asked if she could try to find someone else and she did, so we were set free.

We had lunch on east 7th at El Azteca. I don't think we've ever eaten there together, though we've each been there. I've been there several times on Monday nights. It was great. For dinner we had barbecue in Elgin at the Southside Market. It was delicious, too, but I guess the two big meals did a number on my stomach because I wasn't feeling so hot last night once we were home.

Today I have to really get serious about the taxes. That is my one and only focus of the day. Okay, that and making a nice Easter meal for lunch before Mark goes off to work. I'm going to grill chicken and have baked potatoes and corn on the cob. Lovely.

Then, I will settle down and gather the tax information to my best ability, email the accountant and let him know I need to see him some time this week.

I am very bummed this weekend. I got a statement from my health insurance company and it looks like my plan change (which I chose before I was fired) has a super high deductible. Doesn't bother me so much that I still owe a hundred or so to my doctor from earlier this month, but with this deductible, I can't go see my SD doctor on Wednesday in San Antonio like I planned. I will make some calls and check things tomorrow to be sure, but if I have to pay $1000 for the Botox on my own, I just can't do that now with our income. As much as I want to do it and it would make my life so much more pleasant if I could talk more naturally, my health is not at risk and $1000 is just too much to "throw away." I'm sad.

I had a couple of really down days this week while pondering my job situation and post-birthday blues, I suppose. It really worried me because I don't want to sink back into depression now or ever. I felt very powerless. Now that I have felt better for a couple of days, I need to make a game plan to put into effect when I slip again.... getting out into the sunshine, walking, calling someone. I don't know what else, but something.

I got my new family tree maker program yesterday and I am eager to install it and see the new features. I can't believe I've been using their software for almost 15 years. Sometimes I think they aren't truly genealogists or don't use their program themselves because of some of the quirks that I don't like, but maybe those have been smoothed over with this version. We'll see. I will NOT install and try it today until I've gotten the taxes done though.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland