Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2007 11:10 am

Another rodeo day conquered

I am so glad that life is returning to normal after SXSW. Mark is getting sleep, I am getting sleep, we have coffee and computers in the morning and life is good.

I had to dash out yesterday because I had to be at the rodeo. I slept really late, so I was running from the minute I got up, it felt like. The rodeo was the usual melenge of freaks and families and low-class people and carnies. A carnie woman with her big ol' belly exposed came over to get prizes. I've never seen such a big belly button in my life. I never thought about them getting bigger and bigger as the belly gets bigger. You could have hidden a small ham in that thing. Scary. And she was also braless. Lovely. A variety of toothless people came to visit with me, too, that were very pleasant, though hard to look at. There were lots fewer people than last week during spring break. It picked up after school let out, but I wonder what kind of a crowd they had for the free show? The band for the free show dissed me by not showing up for their 3:30 appointment. Then frantic calls from my friend that works for their management company, apologizing, promising they would be out from their sound check soon and they'd stop by. Still no band. Then their road manager stopped by to apologize and swear they'd be out before 7 p.m. No band every showed up. The friend showed up in person to apologize some more, but I guess they don't want our help. I think within a four hour time period, no matter how bad the sound check is going and what problems you are having, one or two guys could make a break for ten minutes to step outside the arena and say hello to the radio audience. Are they really THAT involved for four hours that they can't be on the radio? They sure won't be on the radio next time, I can promise you that!

I need to keep better records of things like this, though. I forget that I get irritated at people. (ha, sure I do... I never forget a grudge)

The weather at the rodeo was windy windy WINDY. I felt so grubby and grungy when it was over, all I wanted to do was go home and BE home. So that's what I did. I hated missing our lounge music series, since I hadn't missed any of them, but I did. And I didn't go to the east side either. I wish I had actually done more at home than just watched Dancing with the Stars, but I didn't. Oh, I did clean out the shelves by my sink which have been driving me to distraction so that will make me feel a little better about my world. Bit by bit I will get it organized.

My cherry tree is blooming like it has never bloomed before and that makes me incredibly happy. It is such a reminder of my heritage and my great-grandparents and my family's farm and Aunt Dorothy's cherry tree and pies. Mmmmmmm, those pies.

I got birthday presents yesterday, too! A package from Amazon arrived from my sister with a couple of cool books. My favorite, Alton Brown, and another about organizing and planning my life. Fun to get a package. I still need to get something off to my mother.

Lists. I need lists.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland