Monday, Mar. 16, 2009 2:52 am

Birthday celebrations

Wow, I haven't written in over a week? How does that happen?

Well, today was an absolutely superb birthday. I need to look back and see the last time I had a birthday cake, because I had one this year. And the last time I spent any time at all with Mark, because this year I spent a whole day! It was wonderful.

Today we slept as late as we could (not nearly late enough) and did our usual coffee routine. Then we got dressed and went to the east side and drove around and saw the amazing bougainvillea everywhere (how do they do that?) and the cute little houses. We got a Mexican coke at that cute little old grocery on Comal. We ate lunch at El Chile. We went to the state cemetery and saw Stephen F. Austin and Susannah Dickinson's graves. And Governor Shivers and Connally and Tom Landry. And Dobie and Webb and Gipson. We didn't see Ann Richards', though. I'm going to have to look up her location and go again. The sun came out today after a week of cold and rain and it was beautiful.

Tonight I have been working to earn more of a living. Trying to figure out a microphone and processor situation to voice track for Steve. And I made out an application to do more medical transcription for a woman that lives next door to Aunt Louie. I sent invoices to Dr. S and to Shalonn.

I guess I need to spend some time here writing about the festival in Gonzales, which was successful, after all. I had to stay the night down and spend it with M&M, which is just kind of weird. I would have liked some time alone, but that didn't happen much. But it did all go off pretty well except for the gospel folks being late and not bringing drums. Hello? You just assume we've got backline. Aggravating, but she loves them.

This week I have done a shitload of typing (more reports than I've ever done in two weeks, but still only about $250 worth, so I can't quit my day job yet). I also started doing some more writing for Ellen's company doing the little scripts. That was cool. They've only sent three so far. I'm hoping they'll pile them on this week and I can make some money there.

I spent a lot of time tonight trying to decide the merits of writing a check on a credit card to pay off another debt. I do NOT want to mess up my low rates of interest and so this super low rate would get the first payments and I would have to have it paid off in 6 months so it doesn't go to the sky high rate. So scary to get into these deals, but it would, once again, eliminate a credit card bill that has a high rate of interest and since this other card already has a high minimum, that high minimum would go straight toward this super low rate amount and it should pay it off just almost with minimums by the six month deadline. That's my plan anyway. We're not raking in money, that's for sure, but Mark's check Friday was about double normal and we're just going into SXSW. His next check will be at least 3 times normal. That MIGHT get us back to paying the mortgage on the first. Maybe?

It is super late, but we took a little bit of a nap and I drank coffee in the evening. I hope I can go to sleep. I've been taking melatonin, which helps me sleep, but it makes me sleep late in the morning. But I have had some wonderful dreams! Rachelle had warned me that it gives some people nightmares, but I dreamed that Mark and I were on our honeymoon and I dreamed of kittens and many other fun, delightful dreams. I look forward to them!

Sister and family got back from their spring break trip to Holland and Paris yesterday evening, in time to see some of Baylor loss in the Big 12 championship. I talked to her briefly today, but we were out running around so I couldn't talk. We'll have to catch up tomorrow.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland