Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2009 10:32 am

Post party/pre SXSW

Monday night, M&M had me and Frenchy over for wine and snacks/dinner. But it was a surprise party as well. I had had an inkling of the surprise because Mark had told me that my sound girl, Jen, would be there. The night he told me that, I had almost a panic attack and couldn't sleep, worrying about what kind of surprise was in store. I didn't want there to be a lot of people that I had to "enjoy," and on the other hand, I couldn't think of who could possibly be invited at all since I have no friends! I had to get up from bed and get some reassurance from Mark that only Jen would be there.

It did turn out to be more than that, but not too bad. Also Jenni, my favorite promo girl, and the two youngsters K&K that work for M&M and drove me crazy at our San Antonio festival in September. Frenchy and I were laughing as we left that M&M is a little clueless as to my friends and taste by inviting them. Frenchy was the one that invited the other two, who I really do like and enjoy.

But the dinner party was lovely and not too weird. Fabulous foods and nice wine and amazing cream-cheese-icing cake and we only stayed until about 9:30. I could have gone on to TC's at that point, but not after drinking and having a full day. I came home and drank Gatorade and tried to sober up, but still had a bad night of sleep.

I have been offered a new job and that has me kind of excited. The medical transcription job with the neighbor of my aunt offered me a "shift." If I say yes, I will have to be at home Sunday through Thursday from 5 to 9 pm to do their transcription. That does tie me down a bit, but, then, it's better than working Saturdays and Sundays at Dillards or something horrible like that. And better than them wanting me to do 8 am to noon or something. The time fits into my lifestyle, especially if I start working from home even more. I will be here already and will just change hats. And if it added even as much as $200 a week, it would be a big step toward getting us out of our hole. And it might lead to more things. Who knows. I still worry that the work with M&M is a dead end. I don't want to do MORE with her or partner with her and there is no bonuses or future there, really, so why do I do it beyond the paycheck. Well, it is easy enough work and it does keep me connected with musicians and music, that's why. But I don't know that I have to have that. This way I can explore more without having to give her up completely.

Mark is back to the overnights at the lab for SXSW. Yesterday he was sort of at loose ends because he didn't want to go to work until late in the day and then work all night. But since he didn't know what to do and wasn't sleepy, he went to work about 3 pm, hoping to come home for a nap at some point. That didn't happen. I don't know when he finally came home, but it was after I went to bed at 330. Hopefully, he'll be able to sleep into the afternoon and then go to work later and work all night again.

Sweet Nathan is sitting on my side desk, almost falling asleep and being so still and adorable. Dozing, dozing, trying to rouse himself a little, eyes half close. Oh! A noise outside made him jerk awake and eyes are wide open. No they sag again. Sweet angel boy.

A busy day today. I'm going to go to the office and sign and send a few more contracts...I think I'm almost caught up. I am going to try to go to the Saxon for Shawn Nelson at 130 and Shurman at 430 with maybe the Continental Club with Denise in the middle. Then, tonight is the Chronicle awards. After that, the APA party at Threadgill's. I'm just sort of taking it as it comes this year, I hope. I hope I survive to Sunday. I was so draggy yesterday after a party and a little bit of wine, we'll see if I can drag this 50-year-old ass around all week.

Speaking of ass. I read a friend's blog and she stated her real weight. This is a fat girl. Anyone that describes her would probably use the word fat or obese. Of course, her body style, height, and double chin don't do her any favors in disguising it. But her weight was not THAT far above mine and that is alarming. Fortunately, I do have a little bit of height on her and I don't have the double chin or the massively huge boobs. But I have got to start walking and finding a way out of this fat suit I've been living in since Daddy died. I started my 51st year at about 4 pounds over the HGW. I keep thinking that if and when we do start working more from home, I will try to walk before I "work" and maybe walk again after that job and before the 5 p.m. job begins. I don't have nearly the excuses since I will have at least an extra hour in my day without the commute and I won't have to shower before I can go to work either.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland