Friday, Mar. 12, 2004 11:12 pm

Low energy

I don't feel particularly lethargic lately, but I just can't get anything done. I come home and sit down and that's it for the night. Tonight I was staring at the TV and I remembered that Gary P. is at the Spoke and I had considered going by. I was thinking, "Well, it's way too late to go now." I looked at the clock and it was just 10 pm. Not late at all, but I certainly had no energy to get up AND out of the house, too.

I've been working on taxes the last couple of days and my cursory glance and using the free version of TurboTax is showing me some grim news. I need to get it ALL together and trundle it to the accountant and see if they can make it look a lot better. I'm afraid I set the deduction rate at the office back in my underemployed days and am a few tax brackets off now and owe a ton. I hope I am wrong, but it is giving me nightmares.

I've been having a lot of anxiety dreams lately. One about this damn lampshade I have been asked to decorate and embellish to benefit the Make-A-Wish Foundation. Nice to be asked along with Governor Perry and Ann Richards, but I'd bet you anything they aren't worrying about decorating their own lampshade. And of course, perfectionist that I am, I know people that would love to take over the project for me and DO it, but I don't want anything they do that seems shoddy to be associated with me. If I do it shoddy I can claim I didn't have the time or whatever and justify it to myself. I also dreamed last night that I was in San Antonio for a station promotion and then looked at my watch and realized it was 3 pm and I needed to be on the air in Austin. I was cussing and fretting and no one else was worried in the slighted.

I just talked to my sister. She and her husband and my nephews are all leaving for Ireland in the morning. The boys are both in their high school band and they are marching in the St. Patrick's Day parade in Dublin on Wednesday and they are also playing in St. Patrick's Cathedral. Should be quite an adventure. Their family goes to Europe all of the time since my brother-in-law is Dutch and has a wonderful family there, but they don't often go anywhere else in Europe and none of them have been to Ireland, so this will be a neat trip. I would love to go, but I hate leaving the house for the afternoon, much less the week!

I was cheering hard for the UT men's basketball team this evening. I really didn't care much one way or the other except that if they won (and they did) I don't have to broadcast from the rodeo tomorrow afternoon. It makes my Saturday a lot more pleasant. I'm going to be at a remote in the morning and still have to go out to the rodeo in the evening, but at least not straight out there for a day full of work. Tomorrow, I will be cheering against the Longhorns because if they lose I won't have to go into the station to do any extra work. If they win, I'll have to go by the station and prepare for a Sunday broadcast of the game. It all gets so complicated at tournament time!

Sad revelation from my buddy, the sometimes creepy photographer. While he and I were having a nice PLATONIC dinner for his birthday and his wife was out of town working. . . okay, scratch that, she was out of town and she did do work, but she was also in bed with another man that night. Very very sad and devastating for him. She is very young and naive and was drunk and I wonder what thought have been going through her head as she gets deeper in this marriage to a much older man. I think they will stay together for the time being and this won't be the end of things, but I hate to see anyone hurt so bad. And as bad as he is hurting, I know she is probably hurting worse.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland