Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 10:23 am

Unearthed Desires

I need to get dressed and go out and enjoy a little bit of this beautiful day.... what is this? Five in a row, now? It is springtime in Austin and there is nothing more beautiful. Okay, I'll enjoy it even more when I see meadows of bluebonnets on the way to work, we haven't quite gotten to that point just yet. My front garden already has new growth, because it is spring, but I haven't cut back the dead growth that froze. I am behind on my gardening. I have hours before I go to work... I just must tear myself away from this piece of equipment that taunts me with NO emails. sigh

Mark started his new Tuesday night gig at the black club on the east side last night. I went over for a bit and really enjoyed the music. His old bandleader played and sang and a young guy that he plays with occasionally now, who I really like (even if he does look 16) and the talented bass player that he also plays with frequently. Nice little combo playing the blues and swing. This was the first of many Tuesdays to come and I hope it builds with it being the place for the cool musicians and dancers to go hang.

Lots of analysis yesterday of my attraction to musicians. A revelation this past week: I have had previous musicians in my life. When I met Mark I always claimed I had never dated a musician. This week (12 years later!) I realized that is a false statement. Now that other musicians have piqued my interest it makes me realize that that quality that attracts me so is their passion for what they do and their free-spiritedness... two things I really really wish I had. How to incorporate those into my life? That is the question. Yes, I love what I do, but I'm not passionate about it anymore (I think I once was, but it got beat out of me by an old boss and many disappointments). The free spirit has to go to work every day instead of frolicing in the bluebonnets and that feels like shackles around my hopes and dreams. again... sigh

But, the chinese herbs are doing their work and I am not glum or anxious and that is a wonderful thing.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland