Thursday, Jun. 07, 2007 12:05 pm

Funny night

Windy this morning. It reminds me of home. Except for the greenery blowing. That doesn't look like home. At home you knew it was blowing when the chickens couldn't stay on their feet or the tumbleweeds were moving faster than "normal" (which was pretty fast). Maybe a rope hanging on the cow lot was straight out, indicating wind. Or maybe it is the sound that is reminding me of the Panhandle. Strange thumping when something on the house is being blown. Faint moaning as gusts circle the house.

Yesterday was a long day, but good. Hal Ketchum was at the station and I introduced him. He was really good with just him and his guitar. Our new listening lounge is nice. The sound quality was very good. Afterward, he and I had a bonding moment when I commented that we needed to burn the wicks of the candles in that room because leaving them unburned was bad feng shui. He completely agreed and said his wife had feng shuied their house and it made a huge difference. He was a believer.

Afternoon show was fine. Wade and the guys from No Justice were on. I got them in and out quickly, I believe. Show was very good at the cafe, though it isn't my favorite band. Big crowd loved them and I was pretty amusing. The sound guy (theirs) was awful. He kept keeping my mic off when I was on stage. My radio audience could hear me, but not the live audience. I got a big laugh, though, when we were off the air and my mic was still not up. I said (off mic) "are you drinking?" and then when it finally got on "are you smoking a doobie?" That got a huge laugh. haha. I'm the comedian. I also told the mood ring joke (I got a mood ring so I could know how my wife was feeling. I noticed that when she is in a good mood it is green. And when she is in a bad mood it leaves a red mark on my forehead.) I told that in relation to the morning man after Wade sang Mood Ring and that got a big laugh, too. I'm a funny girl.

The after party was typical, but a good crowd, at least. I brought a lot of junk from my office as I try to pare down and declutter. I'm tossing a lot of crap that keeps sitting there.

Came home and took a hot bath and watched a dumb TV show "The Next Best Thing" about celebrity impersonators. Mark went out and wasn't home yet when I went to bed. I needed the sleep.

Today should be a pretty normal day. Hope it stays that way. I feel bad because M&M is going to go to Hot Springs on her way home from her Dad's this weekend and I can't join her. I wonder if I should be a better friend and just GO.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland