Wednesday, Jun. 07, 2006 11:48 am

The boyfriend

I have so much to catch up on. I don't know what my reluctance in writing has been lately.

Mainly, I need to get down the details on the meeting with my friend B!'s new boyfriend. I was irritated with her from the beginning because I asked her to meet me at the Shady Grove to see the band play. Her sister and her kids showed up and said hi and said they were going to go eat. At least they came and found me and said hello. The show was almost over at that point. Then B! calls and say "Where are you, I'm here." They had gone on inside to join the sister and eat. I went in during a song and met them and missed the finale of the show with the band. I wanted her to see the band. It was important to me that she see how good Mark's band is, but she was inside and missed them and didn't even act interested in seeing them.

I went in and met the new beau. I don't believe he stood to meet me. Bad etiquette. And he was dull. Just dull as a post. I dragged Double M back in with me to meet B! and she was funny because she was quizzing him with all sorts of questions "Is this your first trip to Texas?" etc. He answered pretty perfunctorily and had no charm or zip. He never responded in kind with any questions. DULL. I made Mark meet him, too, but it was a hurried meeting, but Mark didn't get much out of it either.

From that, I wasn't much interested in seeing him again, or her for that matter. Sometimes in our friendship she and I have had to lay low for a time and this may be that time. But, I did want to give him a chance to show me he was worthy of her if he could. So Saturday I met them for ice cream. I was irritated again at the lack of manners from them all. They go their first and had already bought ice cream and sat down and started. I would have bought their ice cream if they had waited on me. I got mine and sat down and practically immediately B!'s phone rings and it is her brother. She'd been trying to arrange a meeting with him (he hadn't met the new beau yet either) so she is chatting away when her sister's phone rings and SHE starts chatting away. I said to the boyfriend "Would you like me to call your cell phone so we can all be on the phone?" Instead of "getting it" he said "No, I think it is rude when people talk on the cell phone at the table." I agreed, but that certainly squashed the conversation.

I asked him what he liked about Austin and tried to engage him (when the others were finally off the phones), but couldn't get anything out of him at all. The only affection he seemed to show her was to wipe ice cream off of her mouth once. He didn't seem to laugh at her jokes or her silliness and when she'd put her head on his shoulder or something affectionate, he didn't seem to respond in kind. Just a lump. I said he must be terrific in bed because he sure has no spark in the real world.

Oh well. It isn't my life and I see her once a year at the most. They left town and are driving back to Ohio now. This is June. I would wager that before a month of the fall semester has gone by that they are broken up again. And I may be a lot less inclined to cry with her this time. Of course, she'll be a lot less inclined to even call me or let me know since I'm sure she knows that I don't like him. I had already expressed dislike before we met and she didn't ask what I thought after we met so I'm sure she knows I wasn't impressed.

This week is flying by, it seems. We're already back to Wednesday and a big show tonight at the cafe.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland