Thursday, Jun. 01, 2006 11:37 am

Happy June

Here it is. June already. Where has this year gone? And what am I going to do to enjoy the second half more than the first?

I hate when I re-read the day's entry from yesterday and see misspellings. Oh well. I can correct them, I know, but to write "poor" when I mean "pour" is just stupid.

We did not get a rain out last night. Didn't get any rain on the show at all. It was an enjoyable evening, all in all. She did a great show, but the crowd was small. Afterward, though, my friend Double M and I dashed up to see Mark's band at Jovita's and that was fun. It was especially nice to go up to the bandstand afterward and see Mark's eyes light up with surprise and, truly, JOY to see me. That is nice. Then Double M and I went to Magnolia and had a bite to eat. She is such a cool person. We had a good conversation and I told her about how Mark and I got together and we talked a bit about her and her boyfriend of six years.

Finally managed to go by the grocery after we ate. I hadn't been to the store in maybe two weeks? We were completely out of everything, but I just got the basics: Boloney and bread, milk and grape juice, cheese and crackers. That's about all it takes to keep us happy.

Tonight I will meet this boyfriend of B!'s that has treated her badly. I don't know what to think about him. He damn well better make a GREAT first impression. You know, though, I can't recall ever meeting any of her boyfriends that I really liked. I haven't met many since we've lived so far apart for so long, but there was one that I met when she was still in Amarillo and I didn't like him much at all. And I really didn't like HER and the way she acted around him. It was interesting to see since she is so independent and free-thinking. She didn't capitulate to him or anything, but she was just different. The little baby that is named after her and after me (our old roommate's daughter) was there and was adorable and I was oohing and aahing over her, but B! acted very indifferent, as if she wanted to show her boyfriend that she didn't want kids. She doesn't, but that doesn't mean she doesn't ooh and aah over others' babies. So we'll see.

Talking to Double M last night I was recounting meeting Mark and I was talking about the bar we had our first date at and how I hadn't ever been there even though I had read about it and thought it sounded so cool. I said that I didn't have any friends then that would want to go to a bar like that. I still feel that way about so many things I do. I don't even ask my friends to go with me to so many things I do. I need to find a way to get over that. I know I fear rejection, but I should be able to handle a little rejection on something like this if it might get me a companion to go try some places that I want to go. I'm weird, I know.

Tonight Mark's band is playing the other music series in town and I'm going to go. I'm excited for them to be at this one. I don't think they will have a big crowd because it is First Thursday on South Congress and it also may rain and they are certainly unplayed on that radio station, but it is a nice foot in the door. Of course, this is Double M's doing and not the choice of the station completely, but at least it exposes them to some new people. B! and her boyfriend will be there, Joey will be there, Double M and her friends and more. It will be nice to see a show and not be "working" it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland