Thursday, Jun. 03, 2004 8:01 am

It's June Already?

Monday's Memorial Day celebration was hot and miserable. Unbelievably hot and miserable. Record setting heat, and did I mention miserable? It was "only" 100, but to be out in it (and in the humidity) all afternoon was very very taxing. We ended up bailing on the broadcast at 5 pm when it was lightning and hailing. I was so relieved. It was not fun and there was no one out there. I enjoyed seeing my sweet husband here and there through the day. When I got through I went to the grocery and had a nice dinner for him when he got home. We were both so exhausted we went to bed before midnight.

We had a good show with Roger C. last night at the Cafe. He was on my show yesterday. I like him. He's intelligent. I don't "click" with him like I do with some artists, but I like him and admire him. He sure had a great crowd there last night. Maybe the biggest we've had.

Today is our first day of our radiothon. So much to be done today and tonight and tomorrow. Last year the event stressed me out and it is possibly worse this year because we've added in a countdown music feature that is harder than it sounds to pull off on the air. I'm listening this morning and can already see that we are going to be WAY behind on the countdown by the time I get there this afternoon. What a drag. Makes my head ache to even think about it.

My poor baby Willie has a scratched cornea. I need to doctor his little eye this morning, but he hates the medicine as much as the pain in the first place. I hate to see him suffer. I'm glad it is something that the medicines will fix.

And sad news from my cousins. My sweetest uncle has a form of dementia that causes him to hallucinate and fall. It is a rapidly advancing disease, too, and it is quite likely in three to six months he will not know his family members. It breaks our hearts, especially since he is aware that there are problems and he knows he is seeing things and can logically be aware that they aren't really there, but can't really convince himself that they aren't. There is a lot to be said for not growing so old.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland