Monday, May. 31, 2004 9:49 am

Memorial Day

I need to get moving and get dressed and get downtown for the big Memorial Day festivities at the river. Mark is already down there. He's got a long day ahead of him handling the drums for all the acts (not playing, just setting up the drums). I'm broadcasting at 3 pm, but will go early for the service at noon.

I signed up for Netflix last week and I like it so far. I signed up on Thursday and had my DVDs by Saturday. Pretty amazing. I was sure I'd have to wait through the holiday weekend. We've watched 5 of the 6 episodes of the first season of The Office and I watched all 2 hours and 40 minutes of Nashville Saturday night. Not a movie I would recommend you see, but interesting. We had seen a documentary about Robert Altman the other night and it made me want to see this one. It made me want to be a film student again. Or a film appreciator.

I went to my friend's wedding last night. I'm still mad at Mark for forgetting his agreement to go with me. Of course, as I heard "love is patient, love is kind..." and all that in their wedding ceremony I was thinking "That's all a crock... I'm going to nurse this grudge a while." And I'm sure I will. I'm like that. The wedding was lovely and it was wonderful to see my friend "Grace" and her sweet husband and my acupuncturist Rocky and her nice beau. I'm glad I had them to be with.

Now I need to answer another wedding invitation. This one is for a musician and his girlfriend. I don't feel that I'm a good friend of his, but we have worked together a lot over the last couple of years. He has been kind of obnoxious about wanting me to play his new CD on the air and that rubs me the wrong way. I don't know if I'm invited because of my influence or because he likes me. It is on Father's Day so if I say I will go to his wedding I know I won't be going to see Daddy for Father's Day. And I don't even want to think about going through the yes/no stuff with Mark again.

I got really really bummed last night thinking about these situations where I get up the nerve to ask for what I want and then get disappointed. That's what makes me shut down and quit asking. I can't see the point. I get my hopes up when I DO get the answer I want and I'm amazed that "this stuff works!" and then it all comes back to what I really expected when the rug gets pulled from underneath my feet. I am about ready to shut down for the summer and not ask for ANYTHING from ANYBODY and see how that works.

For today, I will go enjoy the music and the city and the ceremony. And I will take my little box of pills in case it all gets to be crappy and unfun.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland