Saturday, Jun. 30, 2007 11:02 am

Paint thoughts

The rain has abated for a while, although it is still in the forecast. I don't think we ever had any in the area yesterday either, so maybe some things can begin to dry out and we can get some of the lake and river water down the way to the Gulf before the next storms pop up. Mark and I are going to go for a drive today to see some of the floodgates open and the extent of the water. A Saturday drive! How fun!

I have warned the old man of the morning that I am going to paint the office and I might be cleaning up his stuff. Now movement on his part to pack this stuff away. I guess I COULD just drip paint all over it? No, really, I'm thinking about packing it all up in a big box and then the painting process might not really commence for a few weeks and then only to put down a dropcloth and then. . . slowly paint a corner at a time, so that his corner remains uninhabitable until he moves on. Like knocking down a bird's nest over and over, I guess.

I did not do anything on it last night, however. I worked late tracking and got two shows for us and one for Virginia done. I was surprised I was able to get the Texas show finished. I thought I would have to go back up to complete it. I got it all done and then went over to see M&M for a glass of wine. We had a good cry over her dealings with her dad and her cousin's death. She also is having a lot of pain in her arms and legs and was moving slowly in pain. I don't think of her of ever having pain or getting old and that was hard to see, poor thing. Maybe it all stems from her mental stress, I don't know.

I finally got a doctor's appointment for later in July for a new doctor to look at my lip. I've had this red spot on my lip for about two weeks now and it doesn't go away or get worse. I thought it might have been a zit or a cold sore or just a scrape, but it has changed, but doesn't seem to want to heal and go away.

We had excitement at work Thursday when a $3000 video camera and a digital camera disappeared from the web guy's desk in the middle of the day within a ten minute window. There is no clues, apparently. I don't know if they have any idea what happened yet.

And one of my favorite sports guys at work is leaving for greener pastures, though I don't know quite what yet. He is just the cutest ray of sunshine in my day and I will miss him a lot. There is word that the new boss of that station is a real prick. I don't know all the details, but I'll be wary when he gets here. If he gets here.

My sweet baby cousin in Amarillo turned one yesterday and I got adorable pictures of her birthday cake. My newest, brand new, baby girl cousin in Arkansas is back in the hospital with an infection and a fever. And my favorite second generation cousin in Oklahoma, whose husband has been serving in Afghanistan, has her husband back home now! He was only National Guard, but they've kept him for four years. He had a minor injury and gets to stay home with his wife and learn all about his daughter now. I'm so happy for them!

Oh, and this is just one of those interesting things.... I suddenly started getting free copies of a radio magazine at work as they would like me to subscribe. Those things don't interest me at all. I could care less what the vice-president of some radio chain thinks the future of radio advertising is. But I got this one about the first Hispanic broadcasting awards and I flipped through and found a picture of my old boss/partner. I haven't seen him in 18 years, I guess, or 20. I think I talked to him 18 years ago when I lost a job and wanted to get back into radio and he was very unhelpful and discouraging about me and radio. He has gone from little disc jockey back home to a pretty powerful guy in this Hispanic radio chain and lives just down the road. I wonder if he has come across me along the way? Surely he has Googled my name some time and seen my site in all its glory. His name, I will add, does not google anything at all, but he has a really common name. In a way I would love to call and visit with him, but in most others that sounds like a super bad idea. I sure wouldn't want Mark voluntarily calling an old flame after 20 years and I don't know that we have anything we need to say to one another either. If we haven't talked in 18 years, we probably could easily go another 18 or 80. He hasn't changed much since I saw him last, but that means he is very very old looking. He might have lost some of his portliness (okay, he was pretty fat), but he is bald on top and white headed around the sides and looks a lot older than in his 50s, that's for sure.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland